We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn Cafe Bistro

The Barn Cafe Bistro
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Burniston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Barn, a unique dining venue near Scarborough, on Yorkshires beautiful heritage coast.The traditional farm building was lovingly converted in 2008, and now houses a fully licensed cafe restaurant serving an exciting bistro menu.The cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and supper, and our fantastic, traditional Sunday lunch is renowned locally. Delicious cakes and home baking are served all day, along with a selection of speciality teas and cappuccino coffees.Our cosy log burner and friendly staff will make sure you have a warm welcome, or make the most of summer and sit outside, in our beautiful courtyard seating area.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We can't believe we haven't tried this coastal gem sooner. The restaurant set in an old barn is cosy and quaint. The staff are lovely. The food was excellent. We have tried most pubs and restaurants in the area and the Hares Leap is without doubt in a different league. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mal9199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    37
    15
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough,
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nearly had a heart attack at price!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hog roast looked good but who in their right mind would pay £8.50 for a bit of pork and a sausage in a baguette! Outrageous. The couple we were were with shared one, thought it was lovely but not worth the money. I opted for a coffee instead which was actually very nice. Service from the counter was slow and no table service was available.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hungryScarborough_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haresleapfarmshop, Manager at The Barn Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We’re sorry to hear you didn’t love every aspect of your visit to Hares Leap on bank holiday Monday. Due to the fact that the annual ‘Burnison show’ is directly opposite us, we have to cater to a large number of guests, so we changed our normal service to enable us to accommodate everyone. We usually have full table service, but due to high demand and quick turn around, we opted for counter service on this occasion.
It’s a shame that you felt our ‘hog roast’ was over priced, as many other customer enjoyed it, and appreciated that we’d tried to do something a little different: we had the same fantastic quality, outdoor reared pork from Easingwold, that we use in all of our restaurant dishes, served with homemade stuffing made with Wold Top ale and sausage meat from the same pork producer, pear sauce made from in season ‘Guyot Blushed’ pears served in a hand made, award winning ciabatta roll from the artisan bakery ‘More?’ and finally one of our house ‘outdoor reared sausages’ on the side. Considering the quality, we felt we had priced the Hog Roast fairly.
It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your coffee, and we hope you’ll come back again for another cup on us at some point, to make up for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best Sunday lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We called in on the off chance for Sunday lunch. So glad we did! Roast beef to die for with well cooked selection of vegetables. As for the Yorkshire pudding..... We will definitely return!! Value for money

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne2_5_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haresleapfarmshop, Manager at The Barn Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us! We use the very best aged Yorkshire rump beef for our Sunday lunch and try to make the accompanying elements, from homemade horseradish cream to the Yorkshire pudding, extra special as well. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing (service without a smile )”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Sadly we popped in for a coffee on a Sunday morning well midday to be greater with are you eating (no) well coffee cakes outside , ok weather was lovely so not a problem ,whoops we had been on a 10mile treck so only had about £3cash on us which was not enough for 2drinks so we asked to pay on the card (abruptly ) told only if you spend £5 fair enough if that's the rule , although we know there is no charge to a business for card users ) beside point we buy extra stuff to make it to the require amount , sat outside waited , waited , waited for coffees , whilst waiting I decided to go to the little girl room , to hear the manager I think complaining about us only buying two drinks and it wouldn't been £5so why did the waitress except card ? She relied they paid £5 he shuffled off ;-/, coffee finally arrived when all I can say is there was more in the saucer than cup , when mentioned to the young boy he just said sorry walked away ;-( , overall this does look to be a nice place and maybe the food is good yet service is a big part too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaysJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haresleapfarmshop, Manager at The Barn Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We are open for coffee and cakes from 12-3 on a Sunday, and have two designated tables on the ground floor and several comfy seats and sofas on the balcony area, as well as the outdoor seats, for people not having a full Sunday lunch with us.
It seems on this occasion you didn’t get the friendly, helpful and informative service we aim to provide, which has highlighted to us some staff training issues, which we have already addressed following your constructive criticism.
Unfortunately like many establishments with a small profit margin, we do have minimum spend of £5 for card transactions. This is to cover our transaction processing fees, which I assure you, we are charged by our bank.
We’d love to offer you free coffees on us to make up for your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice for a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hares Leap is lovely, the restaurant is a converted barn, decorated simply with nice little touches (such as Cath Kidston napkins!) The food is very tasty, and alot of care is taken in to sourcing local meats and veggies. I am a vegetarian myself, and they always have a good veggie option. We went on a Saturday evening when they have a special menu, it is expensive but worth it as a treat. The puddings are lovely, my husband had a chocolate fondant which was made fresh - very yummy! Sunday lunches are beautiful here too, though the portions are rather small, but it always seems to fill you up none the less!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahrose1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haresleapfarmshop, Manager at The Barn Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Hares Leap. We always have veggi options available on both the daytime and evening menus, which we hope are good enough dishes in their own right that they will appeal to everyone.
It’s a few weeks since we had chocolate fondant on, and it really is delicious… it could be due another appearance on the menu very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn Cafe Bistro also viewed

Burniston, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Barn Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing