We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our second time here and we love it!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pontganol Cottage

Pontganol Cottage - graded as a 4 star property by Visit Wales
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pontganol Cottage - graded as a 4 star property by Visit Wales
The cosy little cottage sits behind an exterior stone wall, providing an enclosed garden The calming and contemporary master bedroom with original fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Pontganol Cottage - graded as a 4 star property by Visit Wales
The cosy little cottage sits behind an exterior stone wall, providing an enclosed garden
The calming and contemporary master bedroom with original fireplace
Bath products - and a handy spot for resting a book, or glass of wine!
Looking towards the summerhouse, perfect for pottering round and enjoying the sunshine.
The large landing gives a feeling of space
Contemporary metro tiles behind the semi-circular shower enclosure, and a view to the mountains
The roll-top bath with views of the stars - just add yourself, bath products and wine!
A detail of some hanging hearts, looking into the master bedroom
The living room by day - great for relaxing and planning your day
View from the summerhouse towards the cottage - enough space to play, or relax
The little summerhouse, perfect for reading the Sunday papers with a coffee and a croissant!
The painted wooden country cottage kitchen
Feel free to move the garden furniture around to make the most of the sun!
The farmhouse-style table in the kitchen/diner - perfect for breakfast, brunch, lunch & dinner!
Llangynidr mountain - perfect for walking and looking for red kites
The kitchen has everything you need to be a master chef, or just pop to the local pub!
The bespoke Welsh slate sign, Pontganol means 'middle bridge'
The cosy living room with woodburning stove, snuggle up and make yourself at home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangynidr, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harriet A
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our second time here and we love it!”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great week staying at Pontganol Cottage for our second time with our 2 boys aged 4 and 7. Hilary has thought if everything and we felt thoroughly pampered. There are a great range of indoor and outdoor games and masses to do in the local area, from messing about by the river, walking along the canal, climbing sugar loaf and visiting nearby Raglan Castle. We love the log fire in the sitting room, and it's great having a separate room for the children to have a go with some of the wii games, we also love the luxurious bathroom and roll top bath. We'll be back again, thanks Hilary

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek A
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a wonderful week at the cottage.
Hilary,the owner,has thought of everything and her attention to detail is first class.
The homemade brownies and other personal touches make such a difference and we really were made to feel welcome.
The Brecon and Monmouthshire canal is only minutes away and we enjoyed hours of lovely,peaceful walks (Local mountains are available too!) and Pen y Fan is less than 30 minutes away.
It is a beautiful,stylish cottage and we will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful oasis after a day on the hills”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Pontganol Cottage combines the best of old and new, to provide excellent accommodation for 4 or more. The cottage has been beautifully renovated to an extremely high standard, keeping many of the original 1800's features, and then complementing them with modern in-keeping facilities, kitchen, bathroom, heating etc. It certainly has the wow factor inside. Outside it has parking for 2 cars and enclosed gardens. It has 2 pubs in walking distance both do good food and beer, one only 90yards away :-) all in all a great place to relax after a tough day in the hills, we'll be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the inside of the cottage
Liked least: close proximity to a housing estate
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise L
Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pontganol is an idylic cottage set amongst beautiful, inspiring countryside”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We accompanied Harri, our 6 month old English Springer Spaniel, on his first holiday ever to Pontganol in February 2015. We chose to visit the cottage after viewing it on the website and knowing the surrounding countryside would give many opportunities for fabulous walks, interesting and varied enough to keep both Harri and our teenage daughter happy, .....and they did! So much scope for nature lovers too.
Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a generous helping of welcome treats. These alone would entice us to make a repeat visit.
The cottage herself is beautiful, both inside and out, spotlessly clean and full of charm and character. Hilary has given her a warm and welcoming ambiance which made us enjoy that 'time out' feeling 'escaping to the country', from the moment we walked through the door.
Pontganol is beautifully furnished and very well equipped. Hilary's touches of little extras pepper the rooms everywhere and they certainly add to the welcome.
The kitchen is my favourite room. It has everything you could possibly want/need for a holiday....and more. The cupboards are stocked with more than a 'few extra's' which are very welcome when you are self catering. The utility room is an absolute boon, when you have muddy boots and wet dog to sort after a long walk, and there are plenty of those for the taking!
We explored the canal walks both ways, need to go back to venture further. Coach and Horses pub along the one route, we intended to visit to sample the lunch menu but Harri decided to explore the canal itself, ... very wet dog, we will try it out on our next visit.
We didn't make it to the pub in the village this time either. After a good walk, a hearty meal waiting at the cottage and a sit down with a good book ( varied but great selection to choose from at the cottage, including fab cook books), to finish off the day, in front of the wood burner. Otherwise there are board games, DVD's or indeed the TV to watch, Harri... slept!
Upstairs is so warm, cosy and the beds are so comfortable. There is plenty of space to store things for both a short and longer stay.
The lovely bathroom with its heavenly roll top bath is a sanctuary of relaxation and restoration, bathe by candlelight while contemplating the stars through the roof window. The cottage lies within the Brecon Beacon's Dark Sky Reserve and allows fabulous views of the constellations on a clear night, which we had!
We will be back, there is so much more to see and discover. Next time we will make it a summer visit so that we can sit in the garden with a glass of wine and enjoy the evening sunlight by the summer house. Me, I want to return to the kitchen, switch on radio 4 and bake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and all she provided inside and out
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriet A
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed here for two nights with our two boys, 3 and 6 and had a brilliant time. Hilary, the cottage owner had thought of everything for a really comfy, relaxing stay. The boys loved climbing on the tractor in the garden, and inside had fun playing with the wii, toys and board games, there are even some dressing up hats for imaginative play. The cottage feels really cozy and snug with lovely rugs and cushions and a roaring log burner.

There's loads to explore on the doorstep and we enjoyed walking along the canal as well as climbing Table mountain from the nearby Crickhowell. We genuinely didn't want to leave and will definitely be back- it's only a short hop from our home in Bristol, but we felt we'd really got away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy atmosphere and roll top bath!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing