We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travelers have booked this property
Visit Elderflower cottage and enjoy this ;)  view from garden area at Elderflower cottage :)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Visit Elderflower cottage and enjoy this ;)  view from garden area at Elderflower cottage :)
Superkingsized main bedroom Twin sleigh beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Visit Elderflower cottage and enjoy this ;)  view from garden area at Elderflower cottage :)
Superkingsized main bedroom
Twin sleigh beds
Time to relax!!!Enjoy a glass of wine,and snuggle up by the cosy woodburner
Family ensuite bedroom
light and airy
Crooissants , butter, jams, Bread, Juice , Tea, coffee , and cereal left for you to enjoy at your :)
Salmon leaping time ....
enjoying the water under the watchful eye of his parent
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangynidr, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smithbrow...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wonderful, stylish cottage, amazing views and ambience. I got 2 sit on the lounger @ the waters edge with the sun beaming down on me while slurping a G&T! Jacqui, the owner was a wonderful, warm individual, who u cld imagine being a good friend. So helpful 2. Big shout 2 Albas the dog, who was also very friendly. Couldn't recommend highly enough. Thank you Jacqui, it was memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was lovely to meet you ,your lovely family and to chat. Hope you had a fab birthday and enjoyed your trip home to wales. Til next time :-) cheers Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTrot...
1 review
“A home from home in the Brecon Beacons...”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at Elderflower Cottage for 2 nights as part of a short break in the Brecon Beacons. The cottage is located on the B4558 - on the edge of Llangynidr - with excellent access to the canal towpath, the River Usk and the Brecon Beacons; the market town of Brecon is a few miles away and the A40 runs parallel to the B4558 so there are good links to the rest of the region. The cottage is not obviously signposted but can be found around a bend in Cwm Crawnon road, after passing the Coach and Horses Inn (on the left, travelling West). A short steep drive leads directly to the hollow in which the cottage(s) can be found.
Elderflower Cottage is wonderful; it is spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. The mixed furnishings and exposed oak-framed interior create a rustic ambience. The open ground level contains: a large, cosy living space, including a piano; combined kitchen and dining area; a downstairs bedroom with two beds; a wrought-iron spiral staircase. The staircase leads to a second, large bedroom with a double-bed; it overlooks a small parking area, river and waterfall. A bright bathroom - with bath and shower - is also on this level.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by Jacqui and the friendly family dog, Albus - it didn't take him long to discover the bag of jelly babies inside the car. Jacqui is a very sociable host; nothing was too much trouble and she made sure that we were settled and happy with our surroundings. She gave us good advice about places of local interest and beauty. We definitely recommend following the road from Talybont-on-Usk, alongside the Talybont reservoir, with a stop to explore the local waterfalls and valley. The scenery is stunning and there's plenty of flora and fauna to enjoy. As the road winds its way into the Brecon Beacons National Park, a lovely tea rooms with irresistible cream teas (again recommended by Jacqui) is a great place to stop. Jacqui and her husband made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived, even bringing my mother some magazines to read when she expressed an interest in homes and gardens.
The location of the cottage is ideal for those with their own transport and is an excellent base for enjoying Powys and the National Park. There are a number of local pubs on the B4558 and plenty of places to eat in the surrounding towns.
Our short break was made more memorable by our stay at Elderflower Cottage. Although it can accommodate a family, it's also ideal for 2 or 3 people - especially couples - looking to enjoy the beauty of Wales. I plan to return to the cottage with my wife as I know she'd love it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Thank you both, it was lovely to meet you both @ Elderflower cottage. It was a pleasure to host for you both and we would be delighted to host for you anytime, best wishes, Jacqui , Albus and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy N
BC, anada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The rave reviews are justified”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Probably very little but here goes...
We loved our stay In Elderflower Cottage, a generous-sized, two-storey cottage immediately adjacent to the hosts' own home, furnished creatively and comfortably by Jacqui (no doubt with some help from John). On the main level of the cottage are a living area with an fireplace (sorry: Canadian vocabulary) and a kitchen cum eating area, with garden views out every window. There is also a light and bright garden-side bedroom with twin beds. Up a narrow spiral metal staircase was a generous-size bedroom, large enough for its own small sofa, which we voted our favourite bedroom of the seven places we stayed in Wales. Off the bedroom is the bathroom, complete with an old-fashioned tub. (Note: the stairs might be a challenge for someone with somewhat limited mobility, and the fact that the bathroom is immediately off the bedroom might a bit tricky for, say, two couples, rather than a family.) Given the reviews, we shouldn't have been surprised by all the food we found in the kitchen when we arrived--most unusual and much appreciated. The cottage is down a short but steep driveway, and across the narrow driveway from another cottage, Waterfall'song, which has its own deck right by the river. (For some reason we didn't realize the riverside deck was not attached to our cottage. Don't make the same error.) There are many sitting areas in the garden adjacent to the cottage, but also another delightful sitting area only a few feet from the waterfalls on the riverbank. This was a fine base for exploring the Brecon Beacons area. Only three minutes away are moored canal boats and it's possible to walk for miles along the towpath. Elderflower Cottage is located in a small village, with an equally small but useful general store, tho' it would be advisable to buy most groceries before you arrive. We were pleased to find that good meals were served at the Coach and Horses pub less than five minutes up the road. Perhaps best of all was the genuine warmth and friendliness of Jacqui and John, our hosts, who simply couldn't have been better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic cottage in the Brecon Beacons”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Elderflower cottage was absolutely perfect for a weekend in the Beacons. The cottage was extremely well equipped and beautifully furnished. The location is an ideal base for exploring both the canal and the mountains, but equally ideal if you were looking for a cosy hideaway. Jacqui was a fantastic host - helpful and on hand if needed, but otherwise left us to it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2017
Lovely to meet you both,Thank you so glad you enjoyed Elderflower cottage, all best wishes Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Thank you Anne , it was so special for me that you chose Elderflower cottage to stay at, and I got to meet you again and hear your lovely familiar accent ;-) all best wishes , hope we get to meet again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Thank you all for staying at Elderflower cpttage and looking after it so well, really hope we get to meet the next time you travel to the Brecon Beacons ;-) all best wishes Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
therambli...
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in Brecon Beacons”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Ideal location for exploring the nearby highlights in Brecon Beacons. Very comfortable and well set up accommodation for 4 guests. The cottage itself is charming and has excellent amenities... good wifi. Television, etc. we particularly enjoyed the piano. A great selection of breakfast foods provided. Would highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
It was lovely to ne'er you all, special time for you to explore The Brecon Beacons together. Thank you for choosing Elderflower and looking after it so well :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing