We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best campground!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Shores Camping Area

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darnley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Shores Camping Area
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best campground!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed this month with our 2 year old son for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. The campground is very family oriented with lots of fun activities and decent quiet hour at night. Perfect family atmosphere. The showers are coined operated, but 50 cents gives you a decent shower. The beach was gorgeous. Our site was wooded, good size and fairly private. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The playground is great and we spent lots of time there. The fire wood is kinda pricey and somewhat wet so I would suggest picking it up from locals nearby. Other than that we have nothing but great reviews for this campground and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyMuisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
72
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have camped here for three years. This is the best family campground in Atlantic Canada. Lots of activities, modern amenities, and a private beach. We'll keep going back until we don't camp anymore!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnab1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

if you are in to camping, Rving, etc and you are looking for a place to get away from it all, it is here at Twin Shores that you accomplish that. Great Camping Resort with a great beach, many activities for the kids and a great place to unwind and relax. You have to try this place at least once and I guarantee that you will be bacl.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theguyfrommoncton29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This campground is HUGE. Basically like a little city with an over-abundance of children. Screaming kids everywhere & very noisy campground.. If we had kids it would be an awesome place to camp but for me and my boyfriend it was a little much. Nice beach & view of ocean though!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsty&Brock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This campground came highly recommended and it did not disappoint! So many activities for the kids, chocolate bar bingo was so much fun, a making dirt shirts was a big hit too. The beach was amazing, we went to cavendish beach one day but I think the campground beach was better! My husband is not a big camper but loved this vacation as well. Wifi does not work at all sites though, we had to go to the main building to get a signal, no big deal but it would have been nice to know before going. Overall a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelleySarris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Twin Shores this weekend for 2 nights. It was our first, and last visit, to this campground. Although the grounds are beautifully maintained, there were a lot of surprising downfalls.

The people working at the registration were not very friendly or informative upon check in- took my money, handed me a map, and said no more than "this is your site, straight down the road".

The site was a 3-way 50 amp site ($57 a night!!!), apparently meant for travel trailers up to 30 ft. Our trailer is 30 feet long with a slide-out and this site was barely large enough for it. We had just enough space to park our truck and the area that was left for a bonfire was much too close to the trailer for comfort. Most of the sites that were good sized seemed to be occupied by seasonal campers. I guess everyone else just has to be crammed together as tight as possible without much privacy or space.

The roads that branch off the main road are lined with trees that crowd the road and hang over in spots that would be too tight for a trailer of any size to squeeze under, unless you didn't mind tear off the vents and other gear on the top. Some spots were so tight that our truck without the trailer almost could not clear.

The beach was beautiful. The playground was really nice for the kids. There seemed to be lots of areas for sports. We looked at the list of activities and everything seemed to have an additional cost. The showers are coin operated (50 cents gives you a decent shower). Any more than 2 adults on the site will cost you additional.

Check-out time is 11am....and that means you have to be completely off the grounds, not just your site. We have been to other campgrounds that will allow you to move your trailer off the site, but stay to enjoy the facilities for a while longer......NOT HERE! They were quite rude and told us to leave because they had 170 campers coming in today and not enough time or space to let us stay for 20 minutes to let the kids play at the playground.

All in all, we were disappointed by this campground and feel that when you pay $130 for a weekend stay, you should be treated with a little more respect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank natalieb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

BRING YOUR OWN FIRE WOOD!!! Be sure to buy campfire-ready wood outside of the campground; there are plenty of locals along the route who sell wood. Twin Shores is a mecca for families - wonderful yes, but if you are looking for less activity and more privacy, I would check out other campgrounds. The campground is well manicured, with small gardens around some sites (not for those looking for a more rugged, wild experience). The beach is fine, but not nicer than Cavendish or Brakely. Overall, it was fine for one evening, but as a single in need of privacy and a lover of backcountry camping, this place did not leave a lasting memory.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darnley
24.5 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
24.8 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
18.2 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
12.3 mi away
The Gables of PEI Resort
The Gables of PEI Resort
#1 of 4 in Stanley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cavendish Maples Cottages
Cavendish Maples Cottages
#1 of 22 in Cavendish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Shores Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Shores Camping Area

Property: Twin Shores Camping Area
Address: 705 Lower Darnley Rd, Darnley, Prince Edward Island C0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Darnley
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Darnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 690
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Canada's premier beachfront family camping resort. Our central location, modern facilities and spectacular scenery make us the ideal place for your family's Island camping get away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing