We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible across the board!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Duck on Sunset

Black Duck on Sunset
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Incredible across the board!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a good restaurant that was still open in Cape May, since most shut down after mid-October. We were always curious about the Black Duck, since we knew it was a owned by the same family from Godmother's, which is always great. We went in and were blown away. First, we came in before 5:30, which qualified us for the early bird special, which was an appetizer, entree and dessert for $24. Their main entrees usually run around $28-$32, so this was an incredible deal. I got the celery bisque (great), followed by the salmon (perfect!), with a chocolate mousse for dessert. My wife had a walnut salad, pan cooked scallops over pumpkin risotto (incredible), and the chocolate mousse. The service was outstanding, frequently stopping by to fill your water glass. The owners are incredibly nice, stopping by a few times to say hi and answer any questions you may have about the town. It's also BYOB, with no corkage fee, so we were able to enjoy our wine. Already making plans for next weekend and a weekend in December, with the Black Duck our prime dinner location!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    99
    30
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here, it was our favorite meal during our visit. No corkage fee for wines brought in which was very nice. We loved the atmosphere and the food was all excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank urbanmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just go there. Really.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow. This place serves wonderful food, has professional service and an owner who makes sure you are happy. We started with the shrimp toast, which is great, could not eat it all cause we needed the space for our salads and entree. Had the stilton salad and also the duck salad. Both wonderful, could have stopped there but we were determined to eat more duck. Roasted duck breast with pumpkin risotto, was so good we have to get back there before they change the menu. It is a BYOB so be sure you bring a bottle - Annabella 5 is a great red blend, if you want a suggestion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood NJ
Level Contributor
144 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"Black Duck should be Black Tuna"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The shrimp toast with crab and cucumber slaw was excellent. Our appetizer was, as it appeared most others were, made for sharing (although this was not indicated on menu). The duck was cooked to perfection, not greasy at all. The rosoto side was tremendous. The yellow fin tuna, done rsre, was out of this world. The wasabi drizzle may be too hot for some, but I found very good. All of the desserts were good, especially the chocolate tort. The food was very good. While the menu is a bit pricy, this is somewhat offset by being a byob. The seating in the front room is poorly configured, which led to noise level being distorted. All in all, worth a visit for a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chef is Fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went to the Black Duck on Sunset and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. The mandarin salad was the best salad I ever tasted. The scallops with pumpkin risotto was amazing - I ate every bite even though I was too full!

The junior wait staff was very pleasant - always smiling. Our waiter could have been friendlier, but the junior wait staff made up for it.

Tip: If you go between 5:00-5:30 - they have a Prix-Fixe menu - fantastic bargain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Duck on Sunset also viewed

 
West Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Black Duck on Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing