We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food but Pricey”
Review of Higher Grounds Organic Cafe - CLOSED

Higher Grounds Organic Cafe
Price range: $1 - $15
Description: Organic free trade coffee, vegetarian. On the outskirts of downtown Cape May with free on street parking
Restaurant details
Description: Organic free trade coffee, vegetarian. On the outskirts of downtown Cape May with free on street parking
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
354 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Amazing Food but Pricey”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had the quiche and fruit, and the Hemp Seed Bagel with Egg and Cheese, a Peanut Butter Banana Almond Milk smoothie, and coffee. It was truly amazing! It cost us $23 dollars plus $5 tip so I would not do this on a regular basis, but for a treat and change of pace it is great!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sawwhetowls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Service and No Empathy”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I recently had lunch at higher grounds. We had selected it because of the organic menu and the outdoor seating with a guitarist. Music and seating were a Key West ambiance.

We expected our order of hummus with vegetables, quinoa salad, and pesto bagel to be delivered in a reasonable amount of time. 30 minutes after ordering, the quinoa and hummus appeared. It took another 7 minutes for pesto bagel to arrive.

The quinoa salad was salty to the point of being barely edible although the remainder of the food was ok. We told the waiter about the quinoa and the fact we didn't have another 30 minutes to wait for a replacement.

Upon leaving, we decided to let the kitchen know about the slow service and saltiness. Their response was "It says somewhere on the menu that it make take time for the food to arrive." Then "We don't use salt in our quinoa."

As first-time visiters, who knows you have to read the entire menu to find out time-to-delivery. Also who cares whether salt is used or not: it was too salty! All it would have taken was some empathy about our bad experience and we would have been fine. Instead, their cavalier attitude guarantees we will never return and will share our "dining experience" with many others.

A lesson in Customer Service 101 would be recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCBPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Our favorite new vegetarian hideaway”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The food is always good, though the service can be a bit slow as each item is made individually with TLC, which makes it all worth waiting for. We loved that we could have such great lattes with soy, almond, or coconut milk, instead of cow's milk. We try to get there a few times every time we visit. The staff are great and the outdoor dining garden is charming and relaxing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank macksammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

One of the only two, true vegetarian restaurants in Cape May. I loved the laid-back atmosphere and the garden, as well as the books and records for sale. The food was great, simple and healthy, although a little on the pricey side. Cash only. They also tended to have odd hours; they close at 6, and one of the days we dropped by at 2 PM to find they were closed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Decent Cappuccino; Okay Lunch”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The cappos were slightly bitter, but probably among the better ones in Cape May. Smoothies were very good. Lunch just fair. Service at lunch was painfully slow. This is a very relaxed place; funky in atmosphere, both inside and out in the garden.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joyfultraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higher Grounds Organic Cafe also viewed

West Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 
West Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing