We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite new vegetarian hideaway”
Review of Higher Grounds Organic Cafe - CLOSED

Higher Grounds Organic Cafe
Price range: $1 - $15
Description: Organic free trade coffee, vegetarian. On the outskirts of downtown Cape May with free on street parking
Restaurant details
Description: Organic free trade coffee, vegetarian. On the outskirts of downtown Cape May with free on street parking
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Our favorite new vegetarian hideaway”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The food is always good, though the service can be a bit slow as each item is made individually with TLC, which makes it all worth waiting for. We loved that we could have such great lattes with soy, almond, or coconut milk, instead of cow's milk. We try to get there a few times every time we visit. The staff are great and the outdoor dining garden is charming and relaxing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank macksammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

One of the only two, true vegetarian restaurants in Cape May. I loved the laid-back atmosphere and the garden, as well as the books and records for sale. The food was great, simple and healthy, although a little on the pricey side. Cash only. They also tended to have odd hours; they close at 6, and one of the days we dropped by at 2 PM to find they were closed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham Township, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Decent Cappuccino; Okay Lunch”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The cappos were slightly bitter, but probably among the better ones in Cape May. Smoothies were very good. Lunch just fair. Service at lunch was painfully slow. This is a very relaxed place; funky in atmosphere, both inside and out in the garden.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joyfultraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good and relaxing”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Helpful staff, good food espically if you are a vegetarian or vegan. the coffee is good and the price is reasonable. You can take out or dine in, they have outdoor and indoor seating. Fresh vegetables. there is a vegetrian bakery across the street. they only take Cash

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Decent, But Better than Most?”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

You can’t argue that this place has no atmosphere: it’s a quaint coffeehouse with a cozy lounge to supplement its rustic, antique laden ambiance. But early in the morning, am I looking for ambiance? No, I’m looking for competent service and a good coffee/breakfast. On the morning I went, the place seemed understaffed to handle customer demand. Moreover, it took close to thirty minutes to receive my run of the mill egg sandwich. I probably could have gone home and made one of the same quality by the time I received it. Now, the coffee was good, but no better than you could find anywhere else. With Higher Grounds, you’re paying for the ambiance and organic food. But with so many coffee options within walking distance in Cape May, anyone looking for quality coffee can find the same quality, if not better, throughout the town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLazyItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higher Grounds Organic Cafe also viewed

West Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 
West Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing