We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valhalla Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Gunners Cove
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Haven Inn(St. Anthony)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
24
19
17
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
19
17
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsl'anse aux meadowscommon roomenjoyed our staynext morningginacovehousenewfoundlandsaunalaundryclara
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 76 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was probaly our worst B&B in our two weeks. No host,basic breakfast and not very clean glad we only stayed one night.The B&B website is very nice butthats where it ends.This was also the most exspensive of our trip and probaly the only one we would never return to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel0982, Manager at Valhalla Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

As I said my mother had broken her shoulder at the beginning of the summer and was unable to spend time at the Bed and breakfast. We have two ladies cleaning ,also, before my mother could go to the bed and breakfast again they were making breakfast. They are dong a fine job. So I can't see how you can say it is not very cleaning, because they both spend an hour per room cleaning( that two hours of cleaning per room ).

The breakfast is eggs, toast, pancakes, french toast, fresh local jams, juice, good quality coffee (from the Porto Rico coffee company on Bleacher street in New York City). We do not serve bacon because it makes a smell. Since my mother has returned( past 3 weeks) she has been cooking things like; fish and brewis, baked beans, good oatmeal, fresh whole grain breads and the above mentioned.

We have a fool proof check in system that works and most people are okay with it. We ask if you need us to come up and everybody says "no we will call you if I need anything". If you want people around all the time please do not stay here!!! If you need me to come up and answer your questions please feel free to ask me to come up. I am 5 minutes away and I do not mind coming. Next year we will probably arrange a set check in time for people who would prefer to have someone there to greet them when they arrive. Most people come to the restaurant and chat with us. My mother said that usually people are gone in the evenings to the restaurant. Not like years ago when people would sit around and chat with her, after dining , they usually just come back and go to their rooms.

Our rate is $113 total, for two people. This includes breakfast.

We have done some nice renovations over the past few years including adding some great patio doors and balconies overlooking the ocean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We did not stay at the Lodge but rather at one of the two rental homes offered by this business. We stayed at the Wavey house which is just down the road from the lodge.There are two beautifully renovated salt box homes right on the ocean. The 2 bed room cottage was remarkably clean and well equipped with every thing you could need.There were eggs bread coffee and tea waiting for us!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This accommodation was fine, not great but not poor either.

Good points....
Bed was comfortable
Breakfast was ample and tasty
Communal deck had decent bay views
Location is wonderful for L'anse aux Meadows

Bad points....
No one to greet us when we arrived, no hosts on site
Bathrooms very basic, and tiny, but adequate
Older house means the walls are thin and noise transmits easily
We had to change rooms, but no hosts or owners meant we had no direction on where to leave luggage while we were out for the day.
No checkout procedure

We stayed in Snorri the second night, which is a standalone cottage with a private deck, and this is definitely the best room option. Would be nice to prune back the trees here to have a view of the bay.

We also ate at the Norseman, the restaurant associated with this b&b, as did most other guests. But the restaurant is 10k away. It would be a real fine touch if the owners added a van service too and from the restaurant for guests so we could have had a drink.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Snorri is bigger and has a private balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewfieGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stunning location w great view - if you get a room with a view. Fairly close to L'Anse aux Meadows UNESCO site, Norstead, Cape Onion, St Anthony and other great sights. The beds were comfortable. Bathroom okay, if rough looking and equipped with very hot water, boiling. Sign warns guests about this. Overall, the place was rustic, which may have been charming, but the half-hanging shower curtains, rumpled bedding, lack of service (no cleaning of room whatsoever) and very ordinary breakfast were less than charming. The host or hostess were invisible. We were instructed to let ourselves in, and the entire establishment was left unlocked till guests arrived. I guess this is a safe area...The breakfast was basic. No sign of the advertised homemade bread and whatever else. This 2-star establishment (or 3-star if you wish to be generous) is apparently owned by the same people who own the excellent and lovely Norseman restaurant. The difference in quality is puzzling.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on the upper level of the main house, as opposed to the separated lower level house.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CityCountryMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very much enjoyed our one night stay, wish we had stayed longer. Ended up staying at the Wavey house just down the hill from the main B&B. Charming cottage on semi private cove (another house owned by the B&B was beside it). Beautiful views, right on the water, a small brook running down to the beach between the two houses. Nicely furnished with deluxe breakfast fixings ready in the fridge for the next morning if you didn’t want to go up to the main B&B, which we assume would be wonderful. Only warning, ceilings on top floor were only about 6ft high, so if taller be prepared to bump your head (as some of our party did). If looking for an authentic story book sea side stay, this is the place to go! If we ever were to go back would definitely stay here and recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews