We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good as the first time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Gallois - CLOSED

Le Gallois
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just as good as the first time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visiting Carol and Peter for many years ( twenty years. !!) Food and service are superb and always with a friendly welcome. One of the top places we've eaten anywhere. Worth travelling to if staying in near by resorts. But book first. Seasonal and local food for all tastes expertly cooked and served. No request is too much trouble. It is a meal experience and a lovely evening out. So don't plan on being out in ten minutes! We look forwrd to many more meals here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BonAppetitUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
145 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant - delicious food and great customer service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went here for dinner after reading the reviews and recommendations from friends. The restaurant is cosy and it was busy when we arrived. There was a good selection of starters and main courses. We had the onion soup and scallops and then the steak and sea bass which were all delicious - the steak was cooked just as we asked and the staff were attentive and friendly.
There was a tempting selection of desserts to choose from to finish off the meal. The owner seemed to know most of the guests and was very welcoming. We will definately be going back again. Booking is recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTour3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I recently went to this lovely little restraunt and have to say it is a hidden gem,I had never heard of it before the other half suggested but will now definatly be returning I had the pork main with vegatables there was a very generous portion which was delicious ...great place for an intimate dinner or cosy evening with friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“worth a visit .....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We ate Le Gallois this evening with friends,the food was faultless,atmosphere relaxing and homely and the staff warm, convivial, attentive and respectful.It seemed to us most other customers were regulars, which is hardly suprising....we ll be returning too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ienchanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Le Gallois, is just like visiting a little piece of heaven.
Carol is very friendly and welcoming.
The food and atmosphere are fantastic, the quality of food you would pay a lot more for anywhere else.
Tonight I started with the smoked duck, absolutely sublime.. Total perfection.
I then had the Lamb, which was cooked as I like it, pink.. Oh my word. So juicy and tasty. The Lamb Crackling was a very welcomed addition..
I'm soooo full now it's unbelievable.
Just go relax and enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Mtcrook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gallois also viewed

Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
 
Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
 
Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing