We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than anticipated”
Review of The Village Bistro

The Village Bistro
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Penmaenmawr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We arrived at our alloted slot of 6.30pm (tables are booked at 15 min slots) greeted in a friendly manner and the menu explained to us. I'm not a fan of having to have a set 3 courses, but as the place filled up it proved that it's a popular option locally. The portions are very generous, my starter of fish cake would have a been a decent sized main course down here in the south! All our meals were freshly prepared and hot when served. Wine could have been slightly more chilled, I suspect going away from the house wine means it's less likely to be ready for drinking.
Service was excellent and at no point did we ever feel rushed. I can't remember ever feeling so full up, it really wouldn't lessen the experience to have slightly smaller meals especially as you feel obliged to have the 3 courses you pay for.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ComeonAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special occasion. Excellent all round.”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is another bistro that I highly recommend. We were celebrating a family birthday and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and the food was delicious.
The atmosphere is very relaxing and all in all, we had a very enjoyable night out.
Perfect for get togethers!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellenmt evening”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Absolutely top class, went with 8 work friends and the meal apart from being value for money was excellently cooked. Service was great also.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marvellous food, service & atmosphere”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Village Bistro is a wonderful dining experience. there is plenty of space between the tables, meals are not rushed. The food is delicious, well presented. The staff are excellent and attentive.

Would certainly recommend the VILLAGE BISTRO!!!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Value in North Wales?”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My wife and I dine out fairly regularly in North Wales, and we have tried most of the more popular restaurants. The Village Bistro in Penmaenmawr probably offers the best value for money: delicious food, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff, inexpensive range of wines.
One note of warning, however: credit cards are not accepted! Nevertheless, you get the feeling that what the proprietor has saved by not paying for credit card payment facilities, he has passed straight onto the customer - good for him!
Another quirk: the quoted price for your main course includes the cost of your starter and dessert; as a result, you can easily select a three-course meal that costs only £18.95!
Finally - the portions are very generous, so take an appetite with you!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dienw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Bistro also viewed

Dwygyfylchi, Conwy County
Penmaenmawr, Conwy County
 
Dwygyfylchi, Conwy County
Conwy, Conwy County
 

Been to The Village Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing