We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dairy Farm”
Review of Pennyroyal Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deans Marsh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennyroyal Farm
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dairy Farm”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

me and the wife stayed at dairy farm for 6 nights and found it to be a great place to stay also has a good fenced off area for a dog and yes our dog loved it highly recomended plenty to see and do as it is between colac and lorne 20 min drive both ways

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in the Barn Studio with my 9 week old puppy and had an absolutely delightful stay. It was the middle of winter and the sun streaming in through the large windows was magnificent. Loved the bird life, especially the superb blue fair wren family that were regular visitors. A young family stayed in the cypress cottage next door but, due to the soundproofing, hardly knew they were there. The dog bed and treat was very welcoming for my pup. The kitchen was well equipped with the basics and the bed was very comfortable. Minimal traffic meant little disturbance. A great base to visit townships and explore the region. I'm planning my next holiday and Pennyroyal is on the list for another 3 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cobih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed there for two nights with our two dogs and we all loved the place !! The outdoor spa bath was awesome !! I thought it was very nice for the owner to allow the guest to collect the free range eggs from the chicken pen. The location of the property - Stringybark was secluded and the scenery is definitely worth to die for ;-) We will definitely be back again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JinHooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have stayed here quite a few times now and we love it. Great place to stay with family and pets aswell as friends. Very quiet and secluded. We stayed in the stringybark cottage because of the spa on deck its nice to sit in the spa and look at the stars, very relaxing. We also seen something else in the sky that we still dont know what it was. We had no complaints with this place. It was also inexpensive. I would definately recommended staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere!
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed at 'The Dairy' for 3 nights in November 2011 - loved the sunken spa in the lounge and the wonderful views across the countryside. We didn't actually realise that it was dog friendly until we arrived, so next time our dog will be joining us- there is a well fenced yard, dog bowls and dog beds! The kitchen is well equipped and the linen in the bedroom was of a high quality- nice comfy bed. During the day you can hear the cars go past on the road to Lorne when you are sitting outside, but it's not constant and it does quieten down at night. You can't see the road because there is a lovely well established garden. Wonderful bird life means that you can spend hours watching the interactions, and you can walk directly into the state forest from the property. Great base for exploring the area!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goingsomewheresoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I, our 6 month old and our two dogs stayed in the Banksia cottage. This is the only place I have stayed that as soon as I arrived I dreaded having to leave. Found it on the web by chance but I am happy to say we will be back again.

The booking staff were great, the cottage was warm and homely, plenty of fire wood to keep warm, ace location and amazing views. What more could you ask for.

I would happily recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warwick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

My two little dogs and I had a wonderful relaxing 5 nights in Honeysuckle cottage. Honeysuckle has one double room downstairs and a lotf (with a ladder) with 2 single beds. The bed was devine with lovely linen. The spa bath was awesome. The highlight though is the deck and the surrounds....and on a cold night the fire. The kitchen was well stocked for self catering...the only thing missing was a coffee plunger.

The fantastic thing about Pennyroyal for me was how dog friendly it was. I have an escape artist of a terrier who was safely contained by the fences. The dogs have a lovely amount of land to run around with a mix of bush and lawn. The dogs had their own beds, bowls, dog towels and treats for when they arrived. There are also chains for if you need to go out without the dogs for extra security.

The only people I wouldn't recommend this cottage to is those with very young kids because the ladder is a potential safety issue...and some older people would struggle with it too.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pennyroyal Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyroyal Farm

Property: Pennyroyal Farm
Address: 225 Pennyroyal Valley Road, Deans Marsh, Victoria, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Deans Marsh
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Deans Marsh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyroyal Farm near Lorne, features stunning country cottages with great character, views & every comfort of home. Outside you have sheltered fenced native gardens and sweeping valley views to state forest where you can take your dog. We offer several multi awarded, fully self-contained, purpose-built holiday cottages in the Pennyroyal Valley, a short scenic drive from Lorne. Most feature soaring timber ceilings and unusual wavy-edged farm grown cypress timber cladding and kitchen benches, and outside large decks with views, BBQ and outdoor furniture. All feature a fully fenced native garden to ensure your privacy and security for pets and pet friendly walks from your door. Nearby cafes in Deans Marsh are pet friendly outside. Pets are fully catered for with beds inside, towels & a treat supplied! Some have spas and aircon while all have Logfires and ceiling fans,auto wash machines and full entertainment centers including DVD players, and comfy leather furniture. All three bedroom cottages have en-suites to master bedroom and full sized baths or spas. All beds have doonas, electric blankets and all linen and towels. To ensure your holiday has minimum environmental impact we buy green electricity and grow our own firewood and building timber. What makes us special is our attention to detail. ..."don't change a thing, we loved the decor and furnishings, such a pleasant change from modern motel rooms" Pip"our stay was perfect in every way, we would love to plan a return stay, thank you so much"LaurenLocalityThe Pennyroyal Valley is a jewel of the Otway Foothills just off the main inland road to Lorne. The valley was once famous for its orchards and berry farms and wild apples and cherry plums still fruit by the Pennyroyal Stream and road. There are areas of State Forest and National Park. There are trout and native blackfish in the stream. Today there are 2 PYO berry farms with cafes open in season. The township of Deans Marsh boasts a general store and 3 cafes, each with its own character. Martians specialty is live music and a bottle shop and Sticky Spoons has great food and hosts live theatre, poetry and music. Old Lorne Rd Olives boasts a more contemporary cafe which specialises in olive products and appears in the Age Good Food Guide. Pennyroyal Farm shelters below the ridge protected from cold winds. It looks out over farmland to State Forest where there are plenty of opportunities for Pet Friendly bushwalking including the historic Coal Train Walk which we maintain. This ex dairy farm has been transformed into boutique holiday cottages with extensive native plantings for shelter, firewood, beauty and privacy for our guests. The only livestock we run these days are a few goats to keep the grass down and keep our guests amused with their antics. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing