We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the north shore”
Review of Ad Lib - CLOSED

Ad Lib
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not bad for the north shore”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

overall a good quality food restaurant for the area but between the inattentive staff and the noisy space, i think twice in a year is enough!. great entree's the individual pots of pate are things only to be dreamed of. the mains are good ut nothing outstanding. the service staff definitely let the front of the house down. and the mohito not good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louiserous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Excellent fast friendly service good food fair price will come back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_Ekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Voila - A French restaurant to enjoy”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Spur of the moment decision to pop up the road to the local Bistro turned out to be a wonderful dining experience. As visitors we were not sure of policy re booking or simply turning up. We did the latter and even though the restaurant was busy and full, we were told about 10 minute wait. Hopped up the bar for a drink and before we knew it a table was ready. Lovely staff , great menu and super atmosphere. I had the Steak Beurre which was just as I would expect a steak to be presented in a French restaurant. On Spinach and ordered fries to accompany. We were given compliemntary slices of baguette to start.
Partner ordered Lamb & Aubergine Balls in Pasta which left him speechless. No need for anything else so we departed replete happy and with the will to return next time in Pymble.




Partner had

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outrageous wine prices”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had high expectations of this restaurant after the newspaper reviews, and Tables (the previous restaurant on this site) was a hard act to follow. Yes, the food was good and reasonably priced, although my mussels were very over salted, but the real disappointment was that we had bought a very special wine to share with our friends for Xmas and were not permitted to drink it. We had to order from the extortionate wine list. I don't think there was anything on the list for less than $70! I know restaurants mark up wines, but really! And when I complained about the salty mussels, no one even followed up from the kitchen. The food quality did not make up for the poor service and outrageous wine prices. We won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maigenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensational food... really something special”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We went to Ad Lib for a private work Christmas party. Everything about this place was impressive. We started with champagne and hors d'oeuvres consisting of a mix of oysters, mini prawn cocktails, mini onion tarts and truffle risotto. We then had a set menu to choose from and not one dished failed to impress. Cured salmon start, steak, noodles and fries and indulgent dark chocolate mousse, apple tart and cherry souffle. Everything was perfect and the service was wonderful. North Shore dining at is best! Love!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phoenixjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ad Lib also viewed

Pymble, Ku-ring-gai
 
Pymble, Ku-ring-gai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing