We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Hotel is "grand" !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wicklow
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My review here relates to to the Wicklow and District Chamber Ball, which was held in November. So, this relates more to the dining experience etc..

The food was absolutely EXCELLENT !!! It was of "restaurant quality", but for 150+ people, which is quite an achievement.

There canapes with the drinks reception, which were very, very good.

There was a choice of beef or fish for the main course, BOTH of which were excellent.

The dessert was a selection of bite size pieces, which were fantastic.

Did I mention the brilliant service on the night ?!?

I don't know about the rooms and staying etc., but for hosting large events etc. and the quality of service that goes along with it all, they do a really GREAT job !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDHOTEL_12, Manager at Grand Hotel Wicklow, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Francis,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding The 2012 District Chamber Ball. We are very pleased to hear that our quality of service has remained so high. I have passed on your kind words to all of the staff that were involved on the night as well as those which helped leading up to the event.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Courtenay Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 287 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

stayed here for just the one night.arrived midday and greeted by lovely reception staff and were quickly checked-in and told where room was.
rooms are old and in need of updating but are very clean and cosy.tv,tea,coffee ect ect all mod cons in room.
food in bar area was tasty and prompt while drinks and bar where good price for a hotel and again cosy surrondings.
breakfast next morning was also nice and waitress where very busy but excellent service..
town itself only a minute walk and plenty of pubs and some shops to go around
went for a party and had no bother getting late drink in res bar but nightclub for very young only we felt

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublindaveDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDHOTEL_12, Manager at Grand Hotel Wicklow, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback as without it we can not make the necessary improvements. We are currently updating our bedrooms and we hope to have them completed in the coming months.
We are delighted to hear that the service you recieved from the staff was excellent. I will be sure to pass on the compliments.
If you stay with us again in the future, Please contact me directly at the hotel.

KInd Regards,
Courtenay Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed Thursday & Friday nights so the price averaged out to be reasonable. Great location for walking in Wicklow Town, easy access to restaurants & pubs. Launderette nearby which was important as we were travelling for 3 weeks - we went directly to launderette, I believe hotel will send laundry out for a premium. Breakfast is served partially buffet style & offered a good selection of fruits, cereals, yogurts, bread & pastries plus a wide choice of hot meals. Room & bathroom were both large and clean. Unable to access hotel WiFi, but there was an unsecured account we could connect to - best connection was in the hallway outside our room, our friends in the room across the hall were never able to access hotel WiFi either. Ate in the hotel pub, food was okay but not outstanding; I was able to take a bowl of soup back to our room (at pub prices, not room service price). Premium for room service was high.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms located near event rooms, there was a wedding at the hotel & the bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dacks3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Looking for a car the other day and found myself close to Wicklow Town. Had not been there for years. Found it to be a very pleasant Main street. Needing lunch I tried the Grand hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. Ordering a fairly standard hotel dish of roast stuffed pork and found it perfect in every way. Well presented and tasting delicious. I will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ishida96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here is August for one night during the regata. we had a huge room with plenty of room. Breakfast was good. we would stay here again. room service was a lttle expensive. i would not recomment the BLT. Clean and confortable beds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I organised a golf trip (20 males) to the Wicklow area last week and we based ourselves in the Grand Hotel Wicklow town.. Most of the group had never been to Wicklow as we hail from south Tipp. I must say that we were catered for extremely well. Breakfast cooked to order and dinner was fabulous considering the deal we had. Plenty of staff on at all times, and the bar food is very popular as this area was busy all day. Bedrooms were comfortable and clean.The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.. Nice bars with entertainment nearby.Would reccommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keaty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked via the Waterford Tourist information office. My wife and I needed one double room for one night as we travelled back to Dublin. This hotel was excellent. It is a grand older hotel with quality fittings. The room was modern large and very good. We paid 78 Euro. The room rate stated in the Hotel was 90 Euro per person. The staff were very pleasant, particularly reception. We ate in the bar and the food was very good (one problem with desert poor mix in the Banoffee pie, the item was removed from our bill and a replacement offered - we were too full to accept). We recommend this Hotel as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor room, was booked via Ireland Tourist information office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray-Mary53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
7.8 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,070 reviews
12.9 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
13.7 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wicklow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wicklow

Address: Abbey Street, Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wicklow
Price Range: $82 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Wicklow 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel has been welcoming guests to the picturesque sea-side town of Wicklow since 1896. Centrally located in the heart of "The Garden of Ireland", it's the perfect relaxing base for exploring Wicklow. Facilities include: 33 luxurious rooms, lively main bar and cozy lounge, food served all day, excellent conferencing & banqueting facilities and secure parking. Stunning scenery (Glendalough), golf (Druid's Glen), walking, historic houses & gardens (Powerscourt) all nearby. Dublin: 40 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Wicklow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicklow Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing