We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Wicklow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wicklow
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked via the Waterford Tourist information office. My wife and I needed one double room for one night as we travelled back to Dublin. This hotel was excellent. It is a grand older hotel with quality fittings. The room was modern large and very good. We paid 78 Euro. The room rate stated in the Hotel was 90 Euro per person. The staff were very pleasant, particularly reception. We ate in the bar and the food was very good (one problem with desert poor mix in the Banoffee pie, the item was removed from our bill and a replacement offered - we were too full to accept). We recommend this Hotel as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor room, was booked via Ireland Tourist information office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray-Mary53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    73
    69
    37
    28
See reviews for
45
117
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

we got married in the grand hotel in july '12, we would like to recommend this hotel to anyone who is due to marry, its doing a brillant package! it also has a really big funtion room, a room for civil ceremony that they do up amazing.. they also have the abbey ruins across the road for wedding fotos so no need for cars. the food is outstanding from the beautifull canopes to the mains/desserts all was really tasty,beds were so comfy and breakfast in resturant was 1st class and best of all THE STAFF.. they were the nicest bunch of people we have ever met, really pleasant ,friendly & helpfull..i cant praise them enough they made our day so special not just for us but for all our family/friends. really great hotel!
lisa & mark x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisalawless202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We adult x 2 + child x 2 stayed at the Grand Hotel on a Tues + Wed in August for 98euro per. night B & B. The breakfast was fab. Very clean, big room with beds for 4/5 people. The decor is clean and modern but a bit worn. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The Grand seems to be the main venue in the town for functions and good all day food in the bar/restaurant (hotel prices). Even though it was early in the week there was a late finish variety show in the bar that was packed with people and a party in the function room on the wed. eve.
For adults the hotel has a great atmosphere in the evening but for children I would recommend that you request a room as high up and as far away from the bar/function room our room 208 was quite well located.
At 11.30 on wed. eve I had to phone the night porter to report what appeared to be a room full of teenagers singing at the top of their voices in a neighbouring room. He said that he had already spoked to them but would do so again. I phoned again at 11.45 after which the problem was sorted.

Room Tip: For family rooms ask for a room as far away from the evening action as poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kildaremare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family had a great stay at this hotel and our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. The staff were very accomodating and went above and beyond the call of duty to bring local food and drinks to us as we were bound to the room due our young daughter falling asleep early - thanks to Lorraine and the girls for making our stay very pleasant and we will be back

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front as the bar is there and you can hear the music and noise very vle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairedoll_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

The reason for the poor rating I've given is the cost. For about half of what we paid, this would have been a more than acceptable one- to two-star hotel. There are some good things -- the staff are exceptionally polite and friendly and the breakfast was quite good (though the coffee was dreadful). The problem is really that there's no feeling of getting what you've paid for. Our room was small and extremely basic and shabby with an odd bed that was so short our feet stuck out the end (and we are not tall people) while the bathroom had seen better days. This hotel either needs to upgrade or lower the price. I suspect that there's not enough competition in Wicklow. Kudos to the very pleasant employees, however.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wicklow hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Avoid if you like to sleep. On check given room 201 right above entrance to hotel. Incredible racket from night club until 3, then at 8 the staff were hanging outside smoking and talking loud enough to be heard two floors up. Complained the next morning. Offered the bridal suite which was.....room 101 underneath where we were and closer to the club ;) Took, 219 at the back of the hotel instead and that night listened to the teenagers drinking in the car park into the wee hours. The problem here is that the hotel has a big night club with a second night club across the road,. Thee staff were nice and seem to have heard the complaints before. Food was nice but the portion of fish for my dinner was not much bigger than two fish fingers. Pub very popular with locals who were friendly. Pillows in 219 were like bullets. Glad to get home to my own bed. Decor is a bit tied and usually I would get over this but the negatives added up. No pool. No gym (how hard is it to put in a gym?). The place did seem pretty clean to me but they need to recaulk bathrooms etc. A grumpy bar man from Sat night served us breakfast on Sun and seemed to be annoyed that we wanted toast with our breakfast. That was actually a bit of a Basil Fawlty moment and we had a bit of laugh as it was getting so bad. On check out we complained about noise from car park and to be fair they refunded us one night. I feel bad for the staff (aside from barman Basil) as they are very pleasant and the noisy night club is probably what allows them to stay open now.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlaneMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANDHOTEL_12, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wicklow, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments; I am disappointed to read that your stay was not as pleasant an experience as expected. We have noted your comments and will strive to improve our standards. It is through customer feedback such as yours that helps us to improve our hotel. I hope that you will at some stage return to Wicklow and allow us to provide you with a much better and improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

From a brief read of other reviews, it seems our experience was the same as that of a lot of other people - the hotel is pretty average and quite dated inside, but the food in the restaurant is really good.

We spent 2 nights there and during that time they had Celine Dion playing on a constant loop in reception and the restaurant. It was driving us mad so I can't imagine what it's like for the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexico_Sutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
7.8 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
11.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
8.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
13.0 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
8.9 mi away
Glenmalure Hostel
Glenmalure Hostel
#2 of 4 in Wicklow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wicklow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wicklow

Property: Grand Hotel Wicklow
Address: Abbey Street, Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wicklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Wicklow 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel has been welcoming guests to the picturesque sea-side town of Wicklow since 1896. Centrally located in the heart of "The Garden of Ireland", it's the perfect relaxing base for exploring Wicklow. Facilities include: 33 luxurious rooms, lively main bar and cozy lounge, food served all day, excellent conferencing & banqueting facilities and secure parking. Stunning scenery (Glendalough), golf (Druid's Glen), walking, historic houses & gardens (Powerscourt) all nearby. Dublin: 40 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Wicklow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicklow Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing