We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite B&B in Ireland”
Review of Wicklow Way Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wicklow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wicklow Way Lodge
Ranked #1 of 12 Wicklow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We stayed here for 2-nights at the end of our whirlwind tour of Ireland. I was a little concerned because it is not walking distance to anything but it was absolutely fabulous. After all the driving and running around it was so nice to have a relaxing stay in the mountains. Marilyn was so wonderful. The property is beautifully maintained and the room reminded us of a ski lodge. High angled ceilings, handmade draperies, pine floors and ceilings, the most comfortable bed and best shower too. There were just little touches like Kit Kats, coffee/tea, and biscuits in the rooms with wine glasses and an opener. And the Breakfast!! I still dream about that porridge weeks after!

We explored the monastic village of Glendalough and did a great 4-hour hike in the Wicklow Mountains. I highly recommend the Wicklow Heather for dinner....pub prices for restaurant-quality meal and a candlelight setting, a short drive from the house in Glendalough. Also there is a little store in Roundwood Village where you can pick up a bottle of wine to enjoy in your room. Not sure what else to say to convince people other than if you are in this area you MUST stay here. There are no other options that even come close. Also not too far from Powerscourt Estate and gardens which was just great.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank dinerdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 289 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2008

This wonderful place has become like a second home, a place i need to visit every year without fail. Marilyn Shea and Tony are amazing hosts/friends and make sure your every need is taken care of without ever being intrusive. The breakfasts are stunning and Marilyn remembers from year to year just how you like things cooked. If you get the chance climb the mountain at the back of the property (we were lucky enough to have Shea and Tony with us) the view from the top is literally breathtaking. (Gillie)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gbholistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 1 night recently in this B+B having read the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor - and rightly so!!

The B+B has a wonderful location on the Wicklow Way walking route. The house is bright and airy. We had a double room with large balcony, the view from the room is stunning. Bedroom was very spacious, lots of storage and a good sized en-suite.

Marilyn was most welcoming and helpful. We had dinner that night in the Wicklow Heather restaurant in nearby Laragh. It was very enjoyable, great buzz and good food.

Breakfast next morning was delicious and yes Marilyn's porridge is fantastic!!

All in all a great place for a quick break.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pussycat-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

This is a wonderful B&B commanding stunning views of Wicklow Way. The accommodation is very well appointed - we particularly liked the power shower and the under floor heating. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very homely. Breakfast was heavenly with wonderful home-made breads and a variety of hot options. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return. Thank you Marilyn.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nasdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

We stayed in the lodge in Oct 2007. We found it on Tripadvisor and decided to stay there based on the reviews already posted. And it certainly lived up to our expectations, especially the porridge!
We were travelling with our 2 boys, 7 yrs old and 4 months. There was a TV/ video in the room so our older boy could watch a film before he went to bed. Also, we had the family room, which was perfect: loads of space (you really pack a lot of stuff with a baby), I could sterilise and make bottles for the baby, and as the family room is to one side of the accommodation it meant that if the baby cried during the night, he didn't disturb other guests.
The lodge is a great place to base yourself for touring around Wicklow. While we were there we visited Lough Dan, Avoca, Mount Usher Gardens and the Powerscourt waterfall, which also has a fabulous playground for children.
All of this, together with the warm welcome from Marilyn, made for a great weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy-q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We had 2 fantastic nights here at the start of September-still dreaming about the porridge! We had one of the rooms with the balconies overlooking the Wicklow hills- after a long day walking, the balcony was the ideal place to sit and relax- the view could not be beaten. The room was spotless and had all the extras you`d need- tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer and the shower was fantastic. Restaurants are all a drive away, you feel in the middle of nowhere here-bliss. We can thoroughly recommend the Wicklow Heather in nearby Laragh for a slap up meal. If you book, don forget to ask for the MAtthew McConaghey room! All in all, a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank KFlyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

This is a lovely B&B on a scary little road, just a few kilometers from Glendalough. The road is very pretty, but it is very narrow.

Our room en suite was lovely with hardwood floors and strong shower. We enjoyed playing cards in the living room with our parents who were traveling with us.

The breakfast is excellent. We decided it was the best breakfast of the trip. All of the reviews of the porridge are spot on!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_2_travel042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
8.8 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,056 reviews
8.6 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,089 reviews
7.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Loughdan House Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#4 of 12 in Laragh
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicklow Way Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicklow Way Lodge

Address: Oldbridge, Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wicklow
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Wicklow Way Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing