We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of The Mystic Celt

The Mystic Celt
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Wicklow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Mystic Celt will open in Wicklow town in October. No bookings from September 15th until October 10th as we are renovating. "The Mystic Celt " restaurant is the dream of Paul and Sylvia Smith. We are trying to promote an age-old tradition that nourished not only our forefathers' bodies, but also their spirits. Thus we coined the phrase "Traditional Celtic Cuisine." Ireland has an enviable reputation for good wholesome dishes, many of which offer some of the finest quality foods.Recently we have developed a new awareness of the dishes of our ancestors and the confidence to recreate and enrich our native culinary tradition. A new Irish food culture is growing, driven by the lavish bounties of our seas, lakes and the rich land of Erin.Our "Traditional Celtic" menu is a celebration of the rich, ancient food culture of a uniquely beautiful land. This is our tribute to the country of our birth, a land where we are privileged to live.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had dinner in The Mystic Celt last weekend and it was divine. Service, food, atmosphere & everything else was beautiful. Can't wait to be back home to go again!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you Sharon S for sharing your experiance with us and look forward to your next visit home. We will have a big cead mile failte waiting for you slán anois, Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for The Mystic Celt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 537 of 617 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited the restaurant today for Mother’s Day with the kids and it was just wonderful, loads of meal choice, food was so tasty. The Chef Paul Smith came out to chat making you feel very welcome as if you were an old friend. Paul’s wife Sylvia and all the staff were so efficient and helpful even thought it was very busy they still found the time to come round to make sure everything was ok. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody you will not be disappointed. Will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you Andrew for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed the Mystic Celt experiance. I always try to get to see all of our customers and especially the kids. Slán go foill, Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had heard great reviews about the Mystic Celt so myself and 4 friends decided to give it a go. We sat upstairs and it was fully booked. Lovely atmosphere in the place and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious, loads of potatoes and veg. You definitely won't leave hungry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KBoyle2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi Karen, its comments like yours that make staff so appreciated. All our potatoes, vegetables and lettuces come from the local organic farm. We are known for giving out plenty of food and also provide to go containers to take home what you can’t finish. Slán go foill, Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just fantastic! Had a lovely night here last night. Lovely atmosphere lovely staff and really really great food!! I would highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wicklow33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much YumYum for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you had a great night and looking forward to your return. Slán anois Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a little gem of a restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious, the presentation was perfect, the service was friendly, efficient and simply outstanding. There's a lovely atmosphere in this rustic type surround. Both chefs came out to meet and thank customers - this was a lovely touch. I was part of a group of 22. There were no delays and the food was piping hot. Careful preparation and attention to detail all around. I will definitely dine in The Mystic Celt regularly. A truly welcoming and enjoyable dining experience. I fully recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pippin-Co.Carlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you, Pippin for your lovely review. Your group that night was a pleasure to serve and its customers like yourself that help create the atmosphere. We await your next visit where we have a large Cead Mile Fáilte waiting for you. Slán go foill Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mystic Celt also viewed

 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Mystic Celt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing