We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Jack Whites Inn

Jack Whites Inn
Ranked #8 of 63 Restaurants in Wicklow
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Irish, Steakhouse, Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off today at Jack Whites. I had heard good things & noticed the car park was full each time we passed.

It was exceptionally busy. We had to wait 15 mins to be seated. 2 Adults 2 Children. Found the staff to be friendly but over worked.

Was very surprised by the menu. €15 for 3 courses. It would be impossible to not find something you would like. The children's menu was 3 courses for 7.95. We really didn't want 3 courses for them as they are both very young but there was no other menu so we availed of it.

Chicken wings were ok. A little over done. Soup was delicious.

My Hunters Chicken was disgusting. The chicken was so tough, you could bounce it off the floor. The BBQ sauce was straight from a bottle, not even heated. The mushrooms, barely cooked. A bowl of hard chips & pointless salad.

I had asked for extra small portions for the children, but huge plates came out. They refused to eat it. My husband enjoyed his roast. Said the meat was delicious (Corned Beef).

Desert was truly pathetic. Fruit pavlova. The fruit was chopped so big, I think it was made for Hulk Hogan. And the mix of fruit was so random for a pavlova. No sign of a single berry. Thrown on top of a store bought meringue with curdled cream & fruit sauce. I didn't get past 3 spoonfuls. The ice cream sundaes for the kids was a bowl of ice cream with 2 marshmallows??!!

I'm so disappointed. I have bought a holiday home nearby & really hoped this would be our special place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystallamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    92
    42
    31
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was surprised to read some of the reviews about Jack Whites. I visit this restaurant regularly and have never got a bad meal yet. The service is always good and the staff very polite and friendly. We always go for the 3 course meal for €14.95 which is excellant value. the portions are always a good size.. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murray12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Full for 15”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

On way back for Dublin late one evening we stopped off for some dinner, there was a 3 course meal for €15, I have never seen such choice on a set menu before. I had the pate to start the BBQ chicken for main which was so tasty and the waffle to finish it all off, all courses were delicious. Our waitress was so helpful even though the place was packed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedMala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else to eat”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We called in here for a late lunch with three children and four adults. The service was quick, the food was disgusting. Our daughter actually cried when her meal arrived and she couldn't eat it. The pizzas were awful and had the most peculiar texture, I would not recommend them, very bland and tasteless. Generally the food was poor quality and I would never eat here again. Complete disappointment and waste of money as we left alot of the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We called here about 5 30 on a Sunday afternoon in mid August. It was very busy, but we got a table almost immediately. We had a 3 course meal for about 15€, very good value. Each of our choices was delicious. We would caal again if we are passing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zaney72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Whites Inn also viewed

Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to Jack Whites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing