We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee Shop in Wicklow”

Halpin's Bridge Cafe
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Wicklow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Halpin's offers great food & a great atmosphere which has been recognised by the Bridgestone guide who have included us for the 5 years we have been open. We are the only Restaurant in Wicklow Town in the guide. Also in The Georgina Campbell Irish food guide and the winner of the Wicklow Chamber 'Best eating establishment' award 2010. We have been awarded a certificate of excellence by tripadvisor, the world's biggest review site for 3 years running, 2012 & 2013 and 2014 and are consistantly in the top 3 recommended on tripadvisor.Ie for the whole of County Wicklow. This certificate is only awarded to 10% of eating establishments in the whole World !!!!
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Halpins is a favourite stop in Wicklow. Great double shot coffees, gorgeous cakes and sandwiches...notice I put the cakes first! And they serve full meals if you've worked up an appetite. Robert - the owner is always good for a laugh - and the atmosphere is always bright and energetic.

Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

AliB thank you for your fantastic review of my café, its greatly appreciated that you would take the time to review us and especially with such lovely comments. every review we get means a lot to us as good reviews help me keep 9 jobs safe in these tough times. thank you again and i look forward to seeing you again soon. Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Halpin's Bridge Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 186 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great little cafe for lunch, just beside the Bridge bar. Nice outside seating area for those lazy spring/summer days for lunch beside the river. If you sit outside you might just get a visit from Sammy the Seal who frequents the harbour area outside of the Fishman fish shop on the quays. Sammy has regularly followed my kayak on trips up river passing the Bridge Cafe outside eating area.

Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

thank you Paul for that lovely review, hope to see you soon, you can park the kayak out the back of the shop lol but sammy the seal has to stay in the river ! Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Needed a soup and sandwich after hillwalking in Wicklow Staff very nice and pleasant and home made food a dream .One of best cafes in the county

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T0ny1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Absolutely couldn't recommend this place highly enough - the food is really good. I am from Wicklow originally and when I go down to meet friends or family I always suggest we go to Halpins. They do a really good Irish breakfast. Looking forward to the summer months where I can sit outside and watch the world go by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smaguired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

hi smaguired, thank you so much for your lovely comments, and delighted you mentioned our full brekkie thats on every saturday and sunday, its so popular and i look forward to seeing you down in Wicklow for the summer. Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

If its breakfast,lunch or just a coffee Halpin's cafe is the place to go. The service is great and friendly and with a menu that has something for everyone at a great price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NIGEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

NigelC thank you so much for you fantastic comments about our food and thank you for mentioning the good prices, all our customers who take the time to review us are really appreciated by myself and all the staff. Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halpin's Bridge Cafe also viewed

Wicklow, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to Halpin's Bridge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing