We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little cafe”

Halpin's Bridge Cafe
Ranked #11 of 61 Restaurants in Wicklow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Halpin's offers great food & a great atmosphere which has been recognised by the Bridgestone guide who have included us for the 5 years we have been open. We are the only Restaurant in Wicklow Town in the guide. Also in The Georgina Campbell Irish food guide and the winner of the Wicklow Chamber 'Best eating establishment' award 2010. We have been awarded a certificate of excellence by tripadvisor, the world's biggest review site for 3 years running, 2012 & 2013 and 2014 and are consistantly in the top 3 recommended on tripadvisor.Ie for the whole of County Wicklow. This certificate is only awarded to 10% of eating establishments in the whole World !!!!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great little cafe”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch/tea and cakes here a few times whilst visiting Wicklow. Service was ftiendly and efficient. A great choice of food-nicely served and very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
hello Helen and thank you so much for your kind words, an thank you for visiting Halpin's while you were in Wicklow.
we appreciate anybody taking time to review Halpin's and especially when they give us 5 stars. Hope to see you again soon, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    29
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a delightful cafe!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited Wicklow on our last day inIreland and discovered this wonderful, intimate cafe. As there was a chill in the air and a bit of rain we both had bowels of homemade potato leek soup. They were delicious! We split a very nice roast beef sandwich and had a nice chat with the owner who gave us a brief history behind the name of the cafe. I won't divulge it here but if you have a chance to visit the cafe you shout chat with the manager. He's a delightful person. We very much enjoyed our stop here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank don4135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
hi don, i remember chatting to yourself and your wife on your last day and delighted you enjoyed your visit to Ireland and to Halpin's.
Every visitor to our country is really appreciated as we know you can go anywhere you like so thank you for choosing Ireland.
I have passed on your lovely comments to the chef and the staff, it's great for morale to hear such lovely words of encouragement. Hope to see you again sometime soon. Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great cafe friendly staff”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited this cafe for lunch, staff are friendly,lovely atmosphere, great menu choice available, had a tasty sandwich and a scrummy scone, nice cup of coffee.
Would re-vist if ever back in Wicklow

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank com_nurseLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
thank you com-nurse for your great comments about our little cafe, its fantastic for the staff to hear things like this and we are delighted you enjoyed the visit to Halpin's and we look forward to you visiting again sometime soon. Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cafe !”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

great cafe, have great specials and the hot choccy is to die for, we sat outside and had our dog with us, it was no problem and the waiter brought a water bowl for her, very impressed !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Yvonnes, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.
delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and nice of you to point out our policy for getting water for dogs especially in this hot weather its very important to make them happy and comfy. we usually have the dogs sorted before the humans lol... hope you visit again soon, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Happened by this lovely cafe as I looked for the local fish monger shop on the harbor. Really warm welcome, cosy seat, very nice staff. I had sundried tomatoe and goats cheese quiche with sides of coleslaw and a raw sliced pepper, onion and courgette salad. Quiche was delish, pastry v v good. Coleslaw was v good, pepper salad could have done with some dressing and personally I just don't like raw peppers. Really good Americano in a large mug(hate tiny cups). All in all a great find and I will be most definitely returning. :):)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi AB, thank you so much for your lovely comments about the food and service in Halpin's, really plesed you found us on your travels and that you enjoyed your food.
we are very proud of our staff, our food and especially our coffee which you mentioned.... like you, i have these tiny cups of coffee some places serve, our regular coffee would be a large in all other cafes and we try and keep the value good at only €2.30
Jus a point for you when you come back again, we have a choice usually of about 8-10 homemade salads every day and you can actually choose whcih salads to have with your food, but also please feel free to ask for dressing on any salad or on the side, we make a number of home made dressings, we just dont put them on the salad in not everyone would like a particular dressing. we look forward to welcoming you again and thanks again for taking the time to review us. Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halpin's Bridge Cafe also viewed

Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to Halpin's Bridge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing