We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast!”

Halpin's Bridge Cafe
Ranked #10 of 62 Restaurants in Wicklow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Halpin's offers great food & a great atmosphere which has been recognised by the Bridgestone guide who have included us for the 5 years we have been open. We are the only Restaurant in Wicklow Town in the guide. Also in The Georgina Campbell Irish food guide and the winner of the Wicklow Chamber 'Best eating establishment' award 2010. We have been awarded a certificate of excellence by tripadvisor, the world's biggest review site for 3 years running, 2012 & 2013 and 2014 and are consistantly in the top 3 recommended on tripadvisor.Ie for the whole of County Wicklow. This certificate is only awarded to 10% of eating establishments in the whole World !!!!
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best breakfast!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a fab find! Thanks to all the people who have recommended this cafe with their reviews. We were so impressed with the breakfast on the Saturday morning that we went back again on the Sunday :-) A perfect way to prepare yourself for a day of sight seeing. There wasn't a spot of grease on the plate and they were very accomodating to requests. A great, and unusual, selection of hot drinks with a lovely coffee and fab hot chocolate. Would definately go back again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
thank you Amberc for your fantastic comments and for taking the time to review us... especially as you mention you found us through tripadvisor, we values all our reviews on tripadvisor which bring us tourists every day.
delighted you enjoyed the breakfasts when you were here. Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    29
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice but not five stars”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Service was good, food was fresh but not so happy with the coffee. Good value but also a little disappointed with meat serving size on salad plate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CRAIGTHEKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review Halpin's, a bit disapointed that you only thought we were worth 3 stars, as you mention you did not enjoy the coffee as to be honest, we get so many compliments on our coffee both in the shop and on tripadvisor, but perhaps you were just very unloucky on your visit and got a bad one, so i would love to take this opportunity to offer you a coffee and cake someday on me. You mentioned the meat serving on your salad plate and again apologies you were disapointed, we offer both small and large salad plates along with all our other salads ie chicken caesar, sweet chilli chicken salad, warm goats cheese salad, or any combination you like to select, and on a chicken salad we use a full breast of chicken, or 2 slices of baked ham, a large helping of tuna or cheese and usually whether its the large or small salad, its piled high at a cost starting at only €7.50 for the small salad plate. i hope you will give us another chance to prove we are worth more than 3 stars and get you to change your opinion soon. thanks for taking the time to review us as we take all comments good or bad very seriously. Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best cafe in town”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This café is where you want to go if you like your food but you still want to feel good you can have every thing you need breakfast, lunch, a dinner but you will Not get fried food so no fat or grease on the plate. any time I have been the owner Robert has come and had a chat with us and made us feel at home. well worth a visit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank martin0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for your lovely comments.
We hope you continue to visit us and enjoy our high standards.
We take all reviews very seriously good or bad, and really appreciate people taking the time to review us. Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Atmosphere just keeps bringing you back”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Good Food, you always feel wanted, the staff have take time to be polite. Very hard to find these days, they just want you in and out in most eateries. Our family use this Cafe on a very regular basis. Well done/

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michaeljmulvihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“first time customer, will be back”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

dropped in to get takeaway moccha and cappucino, service is excellent, smiles all round, coffee was perfect, will be going back...repeatedly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigEddieKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halpinscafe, Owner at Halpin's Bridge Cafe, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks Ed for taking the time to review us after your first visit to Halpin's and we hope now that you have enjoyed our takeaway Mochas you will pop in and try the atmosphere in the Cafe over a leisurely lunch sometime, your comments are really appreciated. Rob and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halpin's Bridge Cafe also viewed

Wicklow, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to Halpin's Bridge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing