We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Happy Pear

The Happy Pear
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Wicklow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Walked from Bray to Greystones along the costal path. Stopped off at the Happy Pear, didn't look much at first but was blown away by the food. Very good value too. Great atmosphere. Worth visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    128
    22
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Friends new to Greystones took us along to this good cafe and raved about it non stop ! They're used to the variety of London & Dublin, so this is quite a find for them...

We had late breakfast/lunch and all the food was of a good quality...and I'm not a vegetarian by any means. The staff didn't worry about kids being lively and answered all our questions.

A good, regular haunt...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great but not always consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The happy pear is a great cafe for healthy vegetarian food with a really nice vibe and the locals seem to take personal pride in the place!

My big gripe with it is that because so many people love the place it seems like they don't feel they need to work hard to maintain their standards or look at where they could improve. That goes both for the food and the service which in my experience can be off.

I also don't like the fact that even when you are inside it sometimes feels like you are outside. In Summer that is fine but in Winter it's often freezing. If it's busy you have to queue up for your food and often end up in the hallway or even outside waiting to be served. Sure some people don't mind a gale force wind blowing away at them but what about the people who like their creature comforts? Personally I think a table service would be far more efficient for the layout.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanSnipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The food is lovely, the place is fab, the staff are so nice ... there's nothing else to say except I hope to be back again soon!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

lovely vegetarian food and organic produce for sale.. little pricey, but the people of greystones don't seem to mind.. it's always busy at the weekends.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hanmwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Pear also viewed

Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Greystones, County Wicklow
Greystones, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Happy Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing