We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wicklow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wolohan's Silver Strand Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
County Donegal, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely campingsite, especially because of the really triple AAA-setting. The weather was helpfull, and the views over the Irish Sea spectaculair.

No nonsense-management, I like that.

One of the most special camping sites I ever visited.

Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TonyCDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Co.Down
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed at Wolohans Silverstrand a few times and always get a great welcome from John. The site is always well kept and toilets and shower are spotless. We had good weather this year and enjoyed the lovely views and watching the seals with their pups on the beach. Wicklow is a nice town with good shops and plenty of cases etc and an interesting harbour. And there is plenty to see in the surrounding area. Hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fernhill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We camped at Wolohan's on on the 4th & 5th of August and we had the best weekend It was myself the fiancé and our 2 daughters, we had an absolute fab weekend, it was so peaceful and the beach was heaven .. The guy that owns it is really nice and very helpful :) They have a shop on site with is very handy and not over priced ! Also sell's good camping stuff too. We will definitely be returning, hopefully before the end of August .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Have caravaned at silver strand for the past 5 years sooo relaxing wonderful views john and staff very friendly and remember u from year 2 year and keep the site and washrooms spotless wishing john all the best for rest of season just sorry we won't make it down this year f @m sandford:-)

Room Tip: Just stay at john's caravan site on silver strand
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Co. Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We went camping on the June bank holiday weekend. The weather was appalling, it didn't stop raining for more than 5 mins the whole time we were there. We had intended staying two nights, but it turns out that even the best tents have limits to how waterproof they are. That said, we were one of the last tents to leave.

The site shop is fantastic. They have a really good range of camping products as well as some foodstuffs. This was one of the reasons we picked this site.

The camping site is essentially a big and in places uneven field, but it is possible to pitch on level ground.

The toilet blocks are basic, but they are clean. I've been on sites with more facilities, but they were not as clean, and I'd go for clean as top priority every time, particularly when you have kids with you.

This camp site is all about the beach when it comes to children. Silver strand is a small private and sandy cove and there is access directly from the site. The access is via steps and they are very steep. If you have young children you will need to hold their hands going up and down, so don't plan on bringing everything but the tent down to the beach for the day.

In our case we didn't get any dry time to enjoy the beach, but it would be good in good weather.

There are no playground facilities for children, so make sure you bring your own entertainment for kids. Also absent were any indoor playing facilities that you find on many sites.

Wolohans Silver Strand is a basic campsite, with private beach access and a great shop. It is well run and clean.

While I do think that it could be made into an amazing site with a little investment (hedging for windbreak and privacy between pitches, playground facilities for children and a wetsuit washing area would be good), I can't fault it on what it provides at present.

We will be going back there, hopefully with better weather next time.

Room Tip: I gave sleep quality an excellent, but this was with rain so heavy that you couldn't hear anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Webshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare Town, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just back from a great weekend in Wolohan's as a camper. The site is very clean, spacious and has a wonderful view of the beach. John (The owner) patrol's it regularly and is very friendly as are all the staff. The site is slopped with enough level areas to pitch but well drained as we where hit with approx 30mm of rain between Sat and Sun and our tent was dry underneath when we packed it up on Monday. The shower block is basic and is very clean.The children had loads of space to play in as well as a great beach. Noise level after 11pm is minimal and is kept in check by a night patrol. The other families camping on the site where friendly and helpful which is why, I hope to return to the site in a few weeks. The shop on site is great and I would recommend this camp site as it is very good value for money also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Have stayed a couple of times.Staff always help full. Place is always clean and quiet Well stocked shop Beach and views are its main attraction. Facilities for kids is a bit limited if they dont like the sea. The Pitches can be on a bit of a slope at times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rib B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
9.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,011 reviews
9.8 mi away
Glenmalure Hostel
Glenmalure Hostel
#1 of 4 in Wicklow
19 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#2 of 4 in Wicklow
273 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolohan's Silver Strand Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolohan's Silver Strand Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Wolohan's Silver Strand Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Silver Strand | Dunbur Upper, Wicklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Wicklow
Also Known As:
Wolohan`s Silver Strand Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing