We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
69
32
13
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
69
32
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering kitchen kitchen facilities wicklow mountains common room games room toilet and shower double room perfect location group of friends ensuite cereal ireland euro singles bray supermarket storage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Wifi is really bad, the food was afwul, it smells,and the owner of this hostel is a really mean man. and as last the matresses are really really bad. So to summarize don’t go to this hostel it is a Total rip off.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank Siep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Manager at Knockree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2019

Hello Siep. We're very sorry to hear you experienced this during your stay at our hostel. These are all issues we will raise with the hostel manager immediately. We appreciate your honest review as it helps us pinpoint what we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

It is hostel have a perfect location in the mountain and magical forest.
The hostel is good. It is have are big and light apartments.
We had a two-level apartment. The hostel have a kitchen and all things for cooking. The restaurant have are big panoramic windows. The hostel have a garden with benches and tables, we often had a dinner there with a beautiful mountain view. If you want to have a breakfast you must tell about this when setting in hostel because then it will be impossible. Around this hostel do not have a market so if you want to buy food or drink you must take care in advance about it. Hostel left the most perfect memories.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank druzhyninaolena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We hosted this large European event at the hostel this summer and so worked with the hostel staff and An Oige staff for a full year in preparations. The hostel manager Jenny in particular and also everyone else could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Our UK and EU attendees who love nature and conservation were blow away by the venue and its lands and the setting and loved the whole event. I keep thinking what else could we organise here as its so special a place with the perfect set up of people area and facilities. Thanks to Jenny and everyone in An Oige for making this an amazing event!

Room tip: All rooms are super there is one special honeymoon one with an amazing room!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suziecahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

Not sure exactly what the problem was with this place, but there's something that doesn't seem quite right. First off, it feels like a basic hostel at B&B pricing. Our room had one large bed and 2 small beds, but sadly the big bed remained un-slept in since it was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever sat on! The loose floor tiles in the bathroom were nerve-wracking. Also, there's only wifi in the common room...not in the individual rooms which was a bit of a disappointment. The place is lacking maintenance and TLC. The radiator pipe in the common room was dripping into a glass and I found myself being the one emptying the glass a few times to prevent the floor from getting all wet. There only seemed to be 1 person working there, who was not particularly friendly when we arrived.
Our room was fairly noisy with the hot water tank (I think) making noise all night.
The only 2 positives are that you can use their kitchen facilities to prepare supper and its proximity to the Wicklow Way.
It's a 15 euro taxi ride (each way) to the nearest pub.
Nice views.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bourqsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

I have used the Knockree Youth Hostel several times and generally would only have good things to say, it is in an absolutely wonderful location and very reasonably priced. However, the male member of staff on morning I was leaving was one of the most repulsive human beings I have ever met.

There were French guests in the hostel who weren't fluent in English, and he was incredibly rude and aggressive with them, making remarks such as "I don't like Frenchies" etc., it was utterly appealing I couldn't believe what I was hearing!

My girlfriend at the time was a foreign national as well and only after we left she said that he had racially abused her when she had asked for help with something whilst having breakfast.

I will never use this property again and would advise the owners to root out their racist member of staff and dismiss him. He was an Irish man with dark hair in his 30s/40s. Awful experience!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy M, Public Relations Manager at Knockree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Hi Aran,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review.
We are delighted that you are a returning customer and obviously dismayed by your experience on your last visit.

The hostel manager is going to follow up on your comments regarding our staff member.
As an organisation that welcomes young people from all over the world, this behaviour is certainly not something that we would condone.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews