We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad news hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel Arklow
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad news hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this place to nobody I'm only back today it is a dump the only good I'd say was the breakfast but the cook wasn't clean he had a dirty tea towel on him and everything I daw him he was out smoking some if the staff were nice and do not leave your belongings out of your hand we had our drinks and cigarettes robbed on us would not recommend

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    9
    10
    28
See reviews for
10
18
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were visiting Arklow for a funeral and had been booked into the Royal, we didn't get there until quite late and were told we had to check in by 11.30pm. We checked in and were given keys to the 3 rooms we had booked, no-one showed us where they were or helped us with our bags.
On first inspection of room 19 there was relatively little noise and this was at 11pm, the room was basic, no tea/coffee facilities and a very old TV. One of the curtains was hanging off the window and there were cigarette burns on the furniture, our firends were in rooms 8 & 9 which were on the next floor at the front of the hotel.
We left our stuff in the room and went to meet up with some friends for a quick drink as we had to be up fairly early for the funeral. We went back to the hotel at about 12.30am and went to our rooms to find that the nightclub BELOW our room had started, the heater was vibrating off the wall with the bass from below. At this point we realised that we were not going to get any sleep until the nightclub closed at about 3am, we were not happy at this point as it had been a long day and we wanted to get some sleep. The rooms cost 25€ per person which may sound cheap but that would be because unless you are there to party you are not getting to sleep until at least 3 am. This should be stated at some point so people know what to expect.
The staff were also not very friendly or helpful which was also disappointing as the other pubs we visited we found the people to be very welcoming.
I would not choose to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms 11 - 19 as you won't get any sleep, unless you are in Arklow to party
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arklow hotels

Wicklow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late. Got single room with breakfast for 30 euro. 25 room only. Had few pints from friendly staff. Breakfast better than average. Clean beds and bathroom. Fantastic value but basic. Dont expect a lot and you wont be disappointed. TV in room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s1nead31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

would never stay there again had to get moved from the room we were in curtains fell down and the noise was unreal was put into another room right at the top of hotel did not feel safe at all if a fire broke out don't know how we would got out. the manager was not very helpful and not a bit friendly.. was never in a hotel were you had to pay up front was wondering why we had to do this when I seen the room I could understand why its one hotel I would not recommend not a nice hotel theres nothing royle about it

Room Tip: wish I had of taken some pics
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you get the manager on a good night you'll be ok but tonight I got him on a bad night and was assaulted and had my I phone robbed by him..... You take your chances good luck all x but this is all my opinion but it did actually happen

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamesina70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a absolute ball , Great Staff would highly recommend it, looking forward to going back great music and crowd , wonderful food and really enjoyed my hens there ,from the moment you walk in the door your welcome and very comfortable ,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a fantastic time this weekend for a hen party, we have stayed at this accomadation on numerious occassions and every stay just gets better, food is very nice and i can only speak very highly of all staff whom are very accomadating in all aspects,bar and nightclub always have a brilliant crowd,and its all round a great place to stay and your sure to have a brilliant weekend.:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieapple09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
4.1 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
0.6 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
669 reviews
23.8 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
8.9 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
20.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Arklow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Arklow

Property: The Royal Hotel Arklow
Address: The Royal Hotel 25 Main Street, Arklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Hotel Arklow 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel Arklow- an affordable, comfortable and well appointed hotel incorpating Sally O'Briens Bar & Niteclub located in the heart of Wicklow. Less than one hour from Dublin, it is the ideal location for social groups,hens,stags,golfing societys,work outings etc. The Royal Hotel Arklow is a well equipped two star hotel offering 25 tastefully refurbished ensuite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel Arklow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Arklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing