We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Hotel Arklow
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I Stayed in the royal hotel last week with friends . We found the hotel and its staff very helpfull and alot of fun. While staying in the hotel they had bands each night and a night club in the back. The place was bursting with great atmostphere and i enjoyed every bit. I myself got steak nearly for breakfast , lunch , dinner because it was so nice. We all agreed the staff are Super Nice and welcoming and i would recommend it to anyone looking to have a great place to stay with friendly staff and a great atmostphere

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Was in Arklow for an annual golf competition held at the local Arklow golf links, 5 min walk. Stayed in the Royal Hotel. The Royal is based in the centre of the main street and just a short walk to all the amenities, shopping centre, golfing, night life. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Large bar and lounge area and smoking area and at the week ends a free night club out the back. Good selection of bar food. What more would you want at this price!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was happy enough with the price of the room, as the hotel is very well located in the centre of town. However, I got a room which appeared to be just above the bar / nighclub. I expect some noise, as you would in the centre of a main street on bank holiday weekend, and managed to drift to sleep about midnight. At about 2.30am though, somebody appeared to ramp up the volume, and I was woke to the thumping sound of music which was actually causing the furtniture in my room to move around. The entire bed was vibrating.
Rooms are sparse and old fashioned, with little in the way of facilities. (light over bed was broken and kept sparking, TV had no remote and was positioned on top of a wardrobe makng it uncomfortable to watch, though as it only had one channel, that wasnt going to be used anyway), and the bathroom was so small I had to stand outside when washing my hands, one at a time in the dollhouse sized sink. I was hit with the smell of stale smoke when I opened the door to the flooor my room was on.

Overall, it was relatively cheap, and the dinner I had in the bar was fantastic and well priced, but if you want a good nights sleep, ask to be put well away from the bar. Cheap rooms, very nice food, but I would probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: well away from the bar / nighclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Pre booked a room through booking.com and got a good price. When we arrived the barman whom was the receptionist wouldnt accept our booking as he said they didnt have rooms at that price. We were absoutely discussted with his attitute towards us.
If we had stayed there we would have had dinner and breakfast there, and we were meeting friends later and we would also have stayed drinking in the bar.
Very short sighted regarding business as we would have spent a couple of hundred euros in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Sheelagh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

recently on a hens night out in the royal hotel we really enjoyed are weekend from the moment we arrived till the time we left the staff were great ,good humoured,friendly,most helpfull .the royal is in the middle of the town so convient for everything not that we left the royal .what more could you need drink and food.the hotel had a relaxed atnosphere the food was great we partied all weekend in the night club rooms were basic and clean what more could you want on a great weekend 10 out of 10 for the royal

Room Tip: this is a fab party hotel bar never sleeps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KildareMartina_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in this 'so called Hotel' last night. It should not be called a hotel by the way. Rooms were very oldfashioned and stank from cigarettes and drink. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186605Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed a while ago, for just one night. It was a kind of reunion, people had travelled from all over and we pretty much all stayed there. Now, I'll be honest, the rooms are nothing special, they are in need of a bit of paint and a trip to their local swedish flat pack furniture stockists for some mirrors, wardrobes and a few accessories. The main thing is though, is that the room was clean, when I seen how basic it was I pulled back the bed sheets straight way to check the bed and it was very clean, as was the toilet (which was also very dated).

Have to say, the staff looked after us brilliantly! Made sure we had space for ourselves, the DJ put on the music we asked for, and even when we were all a bit late down for breakfast they still looked after us. They genuinely couldn't have been nicer, which is the least I personally expect considering the amount of money we all spent in the bar that night!

If you are looking for a quiet weekend away, this is NOT the hotel to go to. The noise from the nightclub is EXTREMELY loud, but if you're looking for a lads/girls weekend away it's a very economical place to stay, and they will look after you!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
0.6 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
713 reviews
4.1 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
20.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,067 reviews
9.3 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,046 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Arklow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Arklow

Address: The Royal Hotel 25 Main Street, Arklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range: $90 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Hotel Arklow 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel Arklow- an affordable, comfortable and well appointed hotel incorpating Sally O'Briens Bar & Niteclub located in the heart of Wicklow. Less than one hour from Dublin, it is the ideal location for social groups,hens,stags,golfing societys,work outings etc. The Royal Hotel Arklow is a well equipped two star hotel offering 25 tastefully refurbished ensuite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel Arklow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Arklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing