We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel bedrooms in need of updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arklow Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arklow Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average Hotel bedrooms in need of updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights the first thing to greet us when we went into the bedroom was the view from the window ... A wall. Room 324. This does not give a great 1st impression, a voile curtain may well have at least detracted from a dirty outside wall. The room was too small to contain a double and single bed. The paint work on the wall requires updated as it was tired and grubby. The walls are paper thin which does not bode well when staying next to a room that contained young children. On both nights people returning to their rooms intoxicated at all hours of the morning making a great deal of noise disturbed our sleep. On a positive note staff were friendly, polite and courteous. Breakfast was of a good standard and staff here very efficient. Would I visit again ???? With updating and sound proofing or ear-plugs supplied maybe.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boardie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    189
    141
    87
    72
See reviews for
237
204
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and thought it was ok. Staff and service were underwhelming. Room was ok but a bit down at heel with the bathroom especially needing a refurb, basic repairs done in a very slap dash way. So the finishing is below par. Having said that, the rooms were warm and beds were good. Food was basic.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arklow hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just back from one night stay and was very pleasantly surprised, booked this last minute and wasn't expecting too much got a brilliant deal b&b and evening meal staff very pleasant great place for families food in the restaurant was gorgeous lovely swimming pool jus in building beside, right beside the beach beautful place for walking only minutes away from town. We spent paddys weekend down here so just walked to parade we will defo b back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msmith1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent one night over St Patrick's day weekend here. Booked online about two months before our stay. Check-in was smooth and profession and quick. Hotel bar was really nice and really affordable. Breakfast and dinner was great. Rooms are a nice size and have great views over a lake and the sea. The hotel also seemed ideal for families with young children. The spa/gym/pool facilities are very good too.
Hotel rooms could do with refurbishing/redecorating, but they are clean and very comfortable with decent television sets and tea and coffee facilities.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booked three rooms saturday week ago. Gym and pool across in a separate building to the hotel but gym is well equipped with squat and bench racks.

Dinner in hotel excellent, all staff very friendly and accommodating. We communicated an issue to staff and the general manager rectified immediately.

Would visit hotel for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArklowBayHotel, General Manager at Arklow Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear David S

We really appreciate your lovely comments. Everyone here strives to ensure our guests have a great stay. We looking forward to looking after you again here soon.

Regards
Tina O’Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice friendly atmosphere clean and tidy staff are nice. It is a bit of town and I wouldn't advise walking home after a night out, this has nothing to do with the hotel though! I enjoyed the breckfast good spread, and nice fresh fry

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArklowBayHotel, General Manager at Arklow Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Choinne,

We are delighted to hear that you found the hotel had a nice friendly atmosphere and we will look forward to welcoming you here again. We are always more than happy to book taxis for any guest who do not wish to make the short walk into the main street and would certainly do this for you on your next visit.

Regards

Tina O’Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently, with a voucher my boyfriend and I recieved as a gift. Reception staff were cheery, lovely and very helpful. Room was fine, wasn't wowed by it, but wasn't disappointed (I'm very picky when it comes to hotel rooms!) Beautiful view of the lake and sea from our window. Went for a walk to feed the swans by the lake, lovely grounds. Had dinner booked later on in the restaurant, reception staff led us into the bar, once again very accommodating. Bar staff seemed a little under pressure even though not much was going on, waited 10 minutes to order a drink while sitting at the bar, it seemed both staff were covering the restaurant and bar, which is understandable. The food was absolutely gorgeous, starters, mains and deserts, all beautifully presented and tasted so good! Followed by some drinks in the bar which had a nice atmosphere. Overall we both really enjoyed our short stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shawnantonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArklowBayHotel, General Manager at Arklow Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Shawnantonia,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. I was disappointed to hear that you had to wait for bar service and will use your comments to help us further our guest experience. I am delighted you loved your meal and really enjoyed your stay overall. As you said the view of the pond is absolutely beautiful and the swans and ducks must surely be the best fed in Ireland.

Regards

Tina O’Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
4.3 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
20.2 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
23.5 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel Arklow
20.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arklow Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arklow Bay Hotel

Property: Arklow Bay Hotel
Address: Sea Road | Arklow Town Centre, Arklow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arklow Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arklow Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing