We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveler rating
370
288
108
45
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
288
108
45
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelgolf coursewoodenbridge golf clubsmall balconywooden bridgeoldest hotelresidents loungelovely locationnext morningboth nightsold world charmsingle bedbar foodstayed here for one nightsunday lunchirish hospitalityfamily wedding
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 831 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Myself and my wife were celebrating our 17th wedding anniversary and attending a 40th Birthday party at the Woodenbridge Hotel. We decided to stay over and enjoy the full night with friends, even though we live a taxi ride away. The Hotel as recently had an ungrade and extention of 6 new rooms, the work that as been done enhances the hotel and works very well with the "oldy world" style without spoiling this historic Hotel. The staff are local and frindly, the Hotels setting is stunning with views to die for, no matter what time of the year you visit. We opted for bar food before the party, again top quality food and great service. Over all a very pleasing short stay and if you like good food, great views, friendly staff and an oldy world Hotel, steeped in history this is highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank ChellRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

When you book, first off they don't tell you that there are two reception desks for each part of the hotel. So check before you park in the wrong car park!

The rooms while basic are spacious and have a decent shower with good water pressure. There is also a kettle which is always handy.
Don't expect to get much sleep if there is a wedding on in the main hotel. You can hear people outside your windows coming back to the lodge, you can hear people on the corridors. It is generally noisy when there is a wedding on.

The service in the bar for food wasn't great and i suspect that this was because of the wedding.

I had early starts in the morning and couldn't get breakfast.

Check before you book.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
2  Thank 216lisam216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel Sunday last because knightsbrook let us down all I can say about this hotel is absolutely fabulous,from the 1st phones call to them organizing the golf in carlow golf club which is really really good, to checking in everything was no problems to these people, the meal they did for the 15 of us was beautiful, again nothing was a problem cannot recomend, this place highly enough thanks again we will be back nicky,

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Dear Nicky H,

Wonderful to receive your complimentary five star review. We are delighted your group enjoyed the stay and felt well looked after by our Woodenbridge team members and that you would recommend us to others. We do fantastic golf deals throughout the year, keep in touch via our website and facebook. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Laura Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Booked a three night stay here and "upgraded" to the main hotel (at a cost) instead of the lodge. This proved a mistake as our room in the hotel overlooked a road junction along which trucks and traffic rolled from early morning. Our room had three windows, one of which is deep in an old wall and has no blind or curtain and so light shines in from early morning along with the traffic noise. When we booked we specifically asked if the dining room was open each night and we were assured that it was. On arrival we were told that it was booked out. Eventually we were given a table and found that the dining room was not even half full. It was exactly the same story next day and we heard other guests being also put off. The real problem which became obvious was actually a shortage of staff so guests were being told to use the bar. We therefore decided to eat elsewhere for our second and third nights even though this involved taxi hire as there is nowhere else close to this hotel. The bar, which had music each night was poorly staffed in that the bar staff were in no rush to serve. The person who appeared to be the bar manager was sitting outside the bar on each of our three nights there drinking with other customers. Whilst this establishment has spent plenty on room decor it is totally lacking in customer care and friendliness.

Room Tip: Avoid room at front of hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank macot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Given the lovely location and price per room per night (€130), we were really hoping to be able to give this hotel a great review. Unfortunately the standard of the hotel does not justify its prices.

We arrived at 9.10pm on a Friday evening tired and hungry after travelling to be told that the kitchen had closed. We were offered sausage and chips as a concession, which we accepted as we were so hungry. It was ok but hardly what we expected plus I would expect the restaurant to still be accepting orders at 9.10 on a Friday evening!.

Our room decor was dated and hadn't been cleaned properly. We found long blond hairs on the bedside table and chest of drawers and the window sill was stained. The double bed mattress was so hard that I was unable to sleep properly on both nights of our stay.

The liquid hand wash dispenser in the bathroom was empty and the shower was intermittently very hot or lukewarm.

This is not what you should reasonably expect from a €130 per night hotel. As a result, our stay could only be described as ok but in this price bracket should have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room - they are much nicer than the one we had.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank berlinboy_hove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews