We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Meetings(Arklow)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$84
Booking.com
View Deal
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Lawless Hotel(Aughrim)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveler rating
359
281
102
45
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
281
102
45
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelwoodenbridge golf clubgolf coursesmall balconywooden bridgeoldest hotelresidents loungelovely locationnext morningboth nightsoverlooking the riverold world charmsingle bedbar foodsunday lunchirish hospitalitystayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 806 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Given the lovely location and price per room per night (€130), we were really hoping to be able to give this hotel a great review. Unfortunately the standard of the hotel does not justify its prices.

We arrived at 9.10pm on a Friday evening tired and hungry after travelling to be told that the kitchen had closed. We were offered sausage and chips as a concession, which we accepted as we were so hungry. It was ok but hardly what we expected plus I would expect the restaurant to still be accepting orders at 9.10 on a Friday evening!.

Our room decor was dated and hadn't been cleaned properly. We found long blond hairs on the bedside table and chest of drawers and the window sill was stained. The double bed mattress was so hard that I was unable to sleep properly on both nights of our stay.

The liquid hand wash dispenser in the bathroom was empty and the shower was intermittently very hot or lukewarm.

This is not what you should reasonably expect from a €130 per night hotel. As a result, our stay could only be described as ok but in this price bracket should have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room - they are much nicer than the one we had.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank berlinboy_hove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

I booked a lodge room for a birthday overnight for my other half.. should have booked the main hotel instead.. as we walked through the corridor of one of the floors the smell of damp was very strong... not very good way to welcome to the lodge. The room we got was over looking the river and it was clean and tidy... the bed was just to my other halves liking. We went to the main hotel for our dinner which was very busy... the food wasn't as good as it has been.. starters were lovely but the mains weren't as good.. I ordered fajatis and to be honest it was more like a stir fry sause rather than a Mexican taste. My other half had trout which he said was lovely but the veg were very hard... breakfast was good.... a bit disappointed all round when I was looking forward to it...

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

This is my second visit to the lodge. My room is nice and tidy but unfortunately they did away with the bottled water. That was a nice touch.
I have a nice view of the river that runs along the lodge.
I had the roast beef dinner and it was offered either medium or well done. I ordered the medium and it was sublime- pink and red in color and it was tender. Sweet and regular potatoes, brocolli also included.

Room Tip: If in the lodge ask for a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tomapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Dear tomapar,

Wonderful to receive your review of your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. We look forward to your continued visits to the Woodenbridge Hotel and Lodge.

Kindest regards,
Laura Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

We stayed one night at this hotel recently with our grand daughter. When we contacted the hotel by email they were all responded to immediately.
We stayed in one of the newer rooms in the main hotel rather than in one of the lodges. For this we paid an extra €15 and a further €15 for a room with a balcony. However we did get a good rate on our stay.
Strangely enough the balcony had no outdoor furniture to sit on. It would have been nice to sit out and enjoy the lovely view.
Our room was a decent size overlooking a busy road. As it was very warm in the room we had to open the door at night. There were some noisy trucks using the road in the early morning.
Our room had a double bed and single bed. There were three of us sharing but we only received towels for two and cups for two. In fairness the hotel did not charge us for her stay but it would have been nice if someone had made an effort to provide an extra cup. There is no room fridge or room safe. Table and chairs and a TV.
The bathroom was a decent size with plenty of hot water. Unfortunately only one small towel rack so nowhere to hang damp bath towels. No hook in the bathroom to hang your smalls.
We had lunch in the hotel. It was average fayre. More expensive than we are used to paying in Dublin. Drinks in the bar were also on a par with Dublin prices.
The staff were very pleasant except for one lady at reception who was at pains to point out that we were too early to check in. We did arrive at about 1.30 and I did say that we would be having lunch at the hotel before check in but a greeting would have been nice.
It is a very busy hotel. Just over an hour's drive from Dublin. It has a bit of history to it. There was music in the bar area in the evening that added to the atmosphere.
We all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BOXtheFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on the 4th of Aug after being turned down by a b&b up the road! The customer service we couldn't fault we were made to feel very welcome. The scenery around the hotel is absolutely beautiful found myself staring for some time! There's a 18 hole golf course across the road as well. The general pricing of drinks and food is average not too pricey. Overall a lovely stay and I didn't want to leave!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Gypsyleo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Dear Gypsyleo22,

Thank you for your review of the Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, we are pleased we could accommodate you and you felt well looked after by our dedicated Woodenbridge team. We hope you return to Wicklow again soon for another enjoyable stay.

Kindest regards,
Laura Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews