We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Lawless Hotel(Aughrim)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveler rating
309
251
94
40
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
251
94
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelgolf coursewoodenbridge golf clubwooden bridgeoldest hotelresidents loungebeautiful locationbar foodoverlooking the riverboth nightsold stylenext morningold world charmthree starsingle bedirish hospitalitystayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 709 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Although we stayed for one night, we found the hotel, facilities, staff and the location excellent. Another bonus for me was the Woodenbridge golf course just across the road too...

All the usual coffee and tea making in the room with excellent free WiFi too. A good choice of bar meals and breakfast was cooked to order, nice touch.

Ample car parking available.
Would we go back again, yes we would.
We were there on the Sunday night 4th May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, it is great to receive such positive feedback from our guests. The satisfaction of our guests is of highest priority and it is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our offered facitlities. It is great to hear that you explored the location and the local Golf Club, as the area surrounding us is perhaps Ireland’s best example of untold natural scenery. From quest feedback we have recently updated our bar, and restaurant menus, introducing a new breakfast menu, keeping with some old favorites and introducing a variety of Healthy options, to cater for all, we are delighted they went down a treat. We look forward to seeing you here vary soon, if you are interested in playing another great game of golf we offer some competitive value golf packages, don’t forget to keep in touch via facebook and our website.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a lovely relaxing spot with fabulous views. It is full of character, bar food is good and the staff are lovely. Lovely walks near by and fantastic scenery. Good golf course close by also. Avoca village is close by, nice peacfull area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vveltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would have to agree with you, the area is very relaxing and has a welcoming idyllic ambiance (including breath-taking views!) There is a great atmosphere and character to the hotel, we are quite conscious of the area’s Irish history and we try to maintain an ‘old-world’ feel to the hotel, including framed photographs and documents. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and benefitted from all the surrounding amenities. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had an early meeting/golf at the Woodenbridge Golf Club (adjacent) so we decided to stay there. Where else can you stay in a hotel that is over 400 years old? We had booked into the Lodge for a cheaper rate but were delighted to get moved to the hotel (main building) on a complimentary basis. Note - no lift in the hotel, but I believe they do have them in the lodge. Good bar scene. I had to drive the hour or so to the hotel so it was nice to have a couple of pints before turning in for the night. Looked like some local (Irish) golf groups were using the hotel as a base.

Good breakfast served promptly the next morning. Wifi was a bit spotty in places, but just moved around the lobby and it improved.

Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Lodge is detatched but cheaper. Hotel has no lift so if you have lots of bags you'll haul them or get help from staff.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time for writing us such a thoughtful review, it is great to hear such positive comments from our guests. As you mentioned, Woodenbridge Hotel is the oldest in Ireland, dating all the way back to 1608. We are quite conscious of the immense history of the area and the framed photographs and documents from yester year provide an insight in to the history of the area. There is great atmosphere and character to the hotel, and we are delighted you enjoyed our bar area. We do not normally have problems with the WiFi, but we shall certainly look into it. We are happy to hear you found our services up to par and we look forward to meeting you again in the not so distant future.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I recently spent the weekend playing golf at the Woodenbridge Hotel This was a great offer with 3 rounds of golf at Arklow, Coollattin and Woodenbridge itself. The courses are absolutely marvellous and the setting, especially Coollattin and Woodenbridge, in the Vale of Avoca is quite stunning. We stayed in the Lodge and the staff and hotel were very friendly, welcoming and could not have been more helpful. Food was good and the rooms clean comfortable and tidy. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room. Outstanding scenery.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a thoughtful review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Wicklow Golf Tours package, it has been very popular and we constantly receive positive feedback, and we are happy to know you had the same experience. I would have to agree with you, Avoca and Woodenbridge are one of the most scenic locations in Wicklow, and the river rooms in the Lodge Building are very peaceful. We display all reviews in staff areas and our staff were delighted to receive such a thoughtful mention. Don’t miss our other great golf packages displayed on our website! We hope to see you back here very soon for another competitive game of golf,

Le meas, Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for two nights whilst on a golfing trip, room was lovely with a minute balcony overlooking the golf course. Room was clean, bed comfy, breakfast excellent. Minor issue with the complementary wifi not working in our room at all over our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumsie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive review, it is great to hear such nice comments from your guests. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooms were up to the high standard we set ourselves. We apologise that the Wi-Fi was not working throughout your stay, I can assure you this is not normally the case, thank you for notifying us and we shall certainly look into the issue. We hope to welcome you back here in the near future.
Is mise le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews