We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had an amazing day/night at the woodenbridge it is a beautiful hotel the staff are brilliant extremely helpful and very professional. We got married in the lodge and it was beautiful so relaxed we would recommend this hotel for a wedding very well equipped for all needs. So if your planning a wedding woodenbridge is the place for it. Thanks for a brilliant time Jonathan & Pamela

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whatsup82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your special day. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in the lodge, and I will pass on your comments to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for your future anniversaries.

Le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 664 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Charming, cosy, warm, friendly hotel in a fantastic setting by the river. Whether it be a short break or longer. Bedrooms are well equipped and the staff very friendly.So convenient for exploring the local surroundings which are fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IVORRBUNION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Ireland is full of beautiful locations, but we believe Woodenbridge and the Vale of Avoca are up there with the best of them, and I'm glad you agree. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I have just spent a most enjoyable weekend at the Woodenbridge Hotel. We were accommodated in the Lodge which was very comfortable (and quiet). The meals we had in the bar were excellent and staff were very attentive. Can recommend this hotel completely. It is very convenient to explore the surrounding area from Avoca.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheColhouns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a thoughtful review, all feedback from our guests is very important to us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we have to agree with you, the lodge is very peaceful and tranquil, especially the harmony of the river flowing alongside, it takes you away from the busy city! Our chef and staff were delighted to hear that you found the meal and service to such a high standard, as we take customer service very seriously and we take great pride in our staff as they have all been with us a number of years. We hope to see you back here soon for another relaxing stay.
Le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on 14/02/2014 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is a charming old hotel tastefully decorated in period style with all modern facilities. The bedroom and bathroom were warm cosy and well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities included. The bar was friendly and the atmosphere relaxed catering for the locals and residents. The staff were friendly and accommodating especially Teresa whose good humour added extra cheer. The food was delicious, the menu extensive and varied, generous portion sizes and great value for money. The location was Ideal for exploring the surrounding area, Arklow was a short distance away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CullenLaoisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments. As a family run hotel, all of the staff have been with us for a number of years, and it really is a great lift to everybody when we receive such positive feedback. Theresa was delighted to receive such a thoughtful mention. I'm glad we could do our bit to make your anniversary such an enjoyable one and I hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Le meas,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Fantastics: Staff, service, rooms, history, comfort.
The nostalgia of this place is second to none. I got a good feeling about this hotel from a few photos and when we arrived the feeling was fantastic.Its a 3 star should be more.
I'd like to thank Sinead for her warm welcome and hope to talk to her again very soon !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brighteyes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

It's great to hear such positive comments from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us, and I’m glad it was an enjoyable one. We place a huge emphasis on customer service here in the hotel, all of the staff here have been with us for a number of years, and all feedback we receive is displayed in the staff areas, and it is a great encouragement to everyone involved when we receive such an excellent review. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hotel, and I will pass on your thoughtful comments to Sinéad. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Le meas,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just spent two nights here. Fantastic place. Great food.great atmosphere and friendly staff. Stayed in the lodge across the road. Typical irish weather but didnt dampen our enjoyment. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank yvonne562011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such thoughtful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and in particular the character of the hotel, as we believe this to be one of our strongest points. Hopefully the next time you stay with us the sun will be shining.

Le meas,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went to Woodenbridge on a golf trip over 3 nights and stayed two nights in the Woedenbridge Hotel & Lodge. We stayed in the lodge which is across the road from the hotel. It is a new building and was very clean and comfortable. Good power shower in the en-suite. The food in the hotel was lovely and the bar was busy every night. We paid 150 euro per person sharing for bed & breakfast with 3 games of golf included. The golf course is a two minute walk from the hotel. wWe played 3 different courses. I was very impressed at the quality and value of the Woodenbridge Hotel and Lodge. Ill be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge across the road from the hotel its very modern and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Averagejoseph1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to hear such nice comments from our guests, and I’m glad it was an enjoyable stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hotel and the golf. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Is mise le meas,
Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
4.3 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
715 reviews
21.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,070 reviews
5.2 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,130 reviews
18.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
533 reviews
13 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow Y14 XT95, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range: $65 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing