We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Excellent stay. Stayed for one night in June and was lucky enough to enjoy some sunshine in Ireland. Everything about this hotel was great, from the staff to the food to the accomodation. I will definitely go back and would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to enjoy a well earned break :-) Thanks a million to all the staff here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it always helps when the sun is shining! We place a huge emphasis on customer service here in the hotel, all of the staff here have been with us for a number of years, and we consistently get positive feedback from guests regarding the quality of the service. We are delighted that you would recommend us to a friend, and I look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kind regards
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 650 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Recently stayed at Woodenbridge House Hotel for a golf outing with 20 other golfers and had a really enjoyable stay.Hotel is steeped in history and has that old world charm yet offers modern accommodation in the Lodge situated across the road. If your interested in golf there are some fantastic courses close by.Food in the restaurant was first class and the service was excellent with really helpful and friendly staff,special mention to Michelle in reservations for all her help,yeah really nice hotel looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaymackdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent and positive review, we are always delighted when we receive feedback from guests. Woodenbridge Hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland, dating all the way back to 1608, and we are delighted that you had the time to appreciate the history behind the hotel and mention it in your review. The Lodge is also very peaceful and relaxing, especially with the river running behind it, whilst offering modern accommodation. Our hotel is very popular for golfers and we are delighted that your group enjoyed the golf. I shall pass on your positive comments to our chefs and your staff. Michelle will be delighted to receive such a nice mention. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is a little treasure. It combines old world with modern efficient service. Enjoyed a lovely break here . It's proximity to so many wonderful places in Wicklow makes it the perfect place to stay when exploring this beautiful county.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Woodenbridge Hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland, dating to 1608. We strive to match the balance between old-world charm and modern conveniences, and we are delighted with your positive comments. There is great atmosphere and character to the hotel, and the framed photographs and documents provide a throughout insight in to the history of the area. We are delighted that you spent lots of time exploring Wicklow, you never know what you might stumble across in the garden of Ireland! Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back here in the future.

Kind regards,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed overnight for a wedding nearby. We both know the area well. We must say that the Hotel was first class. They gave us a lovely room in the old hotel upstairs on the northern side overlooking a small garden. The room had twin beds and was lovely. It was spotless and well appointed, with a lovely bathroom and shower. We have stayed in 5 star Hotels all over the world and could not fault this hotel. The staff were lovely and very helpfull. The breakfast was top class and they even gave us tea and scones for free on our arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is lovely to hear such kind comments from our guests, we are thrilled to hear such a positive review. As the oldest hotel in Ireland, we strive to keep the main historic feel to the building whilst providing modern accommodation, and we are delighted that you felt the hotel and rooms were to such a superb standard. Thank you again for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review, and we hope you come to stay with us again very soon.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

great hotel, spotless rooms, lovely lively bar, friendly staff and great food everything you could ask for in a beautiful scenic location just a pity it wasn't longer. My husband stays here a lot with his golf society so he highly recommends the golf.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank colohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your superb review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay here. We place a huge emphasis on customer service here in the hotel, all of the staff here have been with us for a number of years, and we consistently get positive feedback from guests regarding the quality of the service. All feedback we receive is displayed in the staff areas, and it will be a great encouragement to the staff and chefs to see your positive comments. Our hotel is very popular for golfers and we are delighted that your husband enjoys the golf here. Hopefully the next time you stay it will be a slightly longer one so you can relax and unwind in the oldest hotel in Ireland.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first stop in Ireland was to Woodenbridge and a great start. The location was spectacular with dense woodland all around and a river flowing past the hotel. The restaurant was good with plenty of choice. The bar was packed with a wedding party but I still managed to taste a cracking pint of guinness. My only fault would be the room size, but everything else made up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuddlestonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is always great to hear feedback from our guests. We are delighted that we made a great impression for your first stop in Ireland, the hotel is very lively and full of atmosphere. We are delighted you had such a great stay with us, it is not often you can say you had a cracking pint of Guinness in the oldest hotel in Ireland! Ireland is full of beautiful locations, and Woodenbridge is indeed one of the best, we are delighted that you got a chance to relax among the amazing woodland and nature of the Wicklow hills. We apologise if the room was a bit small for your liking, but I can ensure you that the next time you stay with us we will be delighted to give you a larger room. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing hotel in spectacular surroundings scenery unbelievable. Also the hotel has fabulous food friendly staff and good entertainment bedrooms are spotless and well equipped and if you like to play golf the club is just across the road. What a golf courses with scenery to match!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank custaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive feedback from our guests, our staff will be thrilled to read your positive review. We are delighted that you thought our hotel and rooms were to such a high standard, as it is something we take very seriously. We are constantly trying out new musicians and we are delighted that you enjoyed the entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kind regards,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
4.3 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
705 reviews
21.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,049 reviews
19.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
519 reviews
5.2 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,030 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Arklow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range: $70 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing