We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxed chilled out stay at this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We made our second visit to this hotel on Sat the 9th Feb. Again we stayed on a Groupon deal, and it was fantastic value for one night plus Breakfast. We brought another couple along with us this time. Last time we were upgraded to a balcony view room looking over golf course, this time although these rooms were unavailable we were allocated another lovely room. In a nutshell this is a a beautiful old hotel(400 yrs old), with no spas or swimming pool, which only adds to its appeal.! Its in one of the most scenic locations on this side of the east coast, a short drive will take you back to Arklow where you will find the Bridgewater shopping centre and cinema. An ideal location for ramblers and cyclists alike.

We did not eat in the hotel last time, but this time we booked the restaurant and it did not disappoint! The set menu at 28 Euro was excellent value(5 euro surcharge for the steak). The service in both the restaurant and bar was also faultless , with friendly helpful staff. A sing song in the bar, followed by another lovely dining experience for breakfast , made for a brilliant stay.

To sum up, this hotel, has kept all its original charm, but is up to the minute for food and service. If you like modern asthetic type hotels with big foyers, and leisure centres this is not for you. If your ideal hotel break, involves a relaxed chilled kick back, with excellent service, take a visit .You wont be sorry. !

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have view over golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeeFeeTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was great to have you back to stay with us again to experience the warmth of the Woodenbridge Welcome. We do our best to make our guests feel like this is their "home away from home", and the history of the hotel certainly adds to the charm. Thank you for your comments regarding our food, we pride ourselves on our fine cuisine, while maintaining value for money for our guests. We hope to see you back again here again soon for another break.
Kind regards,
Sinéad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 671 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is by far the nicest hotel I stayed in a long time. No Bain Marie for breakfast , food cooked fresh even if you are last for breakfast. Food in lounge and restaurant is top class, best I had in a long time. Seasoned to perfection and presentation perfect. Its in a beautiful location . We stayed in the lodge. Rooms were lovely , bed very comfortable. Staff in all sections of this hotel were excellent, friendly and professional, mostly Irish. Highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lodge, it was quiet and peaceful on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Woodenbridge Lodge. It's a truly beautiful setting with the Aughrim River flowing past the building. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience with is. Breakfast, "the most important meal of the day" is cooked to order each morning, to ensure a high standard no matter what time you sit at. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not so distant future.
Kind regards,
Sinéad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we stayed here recently , family and some friends , everyone was very happy with the experience , on arrival the warm and helpful welcome at reception , the food was great , they even made sandwiches for some of us who were down too late for dinner, rooms were surprisingly comfortable and pleasant with lovely views ,and without the " oldie aroma" that can sometimes accompany rooms in hotels of this age , parking was not a problem , and although the weather was not great we all agreed we would return in the summer and explore the beautiful surrounding countryside and the nearby village of avoca (ballykissangel) , there is also a lovely golf course adjacent to the hotel on which we could see a number of pheasants happily strutting there stuff , I suppose words to describe this place would be homely , pleasent , and relaxing .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublindor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are glad you enjoyed it and found it a relaxing experience. We do our best to make our guests feel like they are at home. There is so much to see in the area so we are lucky to be in such a lovely location. Glendalough, Avondale House and Brittas Bay are beautiful for walks, and are only a short distance away by car. The golf course is just across from us here at the hotel also, so if you would like to incorporate a round or two in to your next stay just give us a call and we can arrange the tee times for you.
We hope to see you back here soon.
Kind regards,
Sinéad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Woodenbridge Hotel is over 400 years old. As soon as you walk in, you feel the professional, friendly ambiance. Although there were not many people in the lounge, we found the food excellent. Finally I have found somewhere who cooks scampi themselves! Chicken and cod goujons lovely and plenty on the plate. A perfect glass of Guinness was served as well. Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, I have passed on your lovely comments to our Chefs. The quality of our food is very important to us, and our ingredients are all sourced locally, where possible. We do not cut corners when it comes to our food, and as a result we have built up a very good reputation for dining in the area. We hope to see you back at the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Sinéad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Myself and a colleague stayed here for 2 nights whilst working in nearby Rathdrum. I had previously lived in Dublin and would always have travelled to Rathdrum and never stayed in a hotel, but since moving back to Scotland I don't have that luxury any more.

We were recommended this hotel by a contact on the site we were working on and I was skeptical at first. However, I had no reason to be.

First impressions were that the hotel was old fashioned...which it is but don't let that put you off. We were late arriving so headed straight to room to wash up and head to the bar for food.

Room was large with a queen size (two singles pushed together) and a single bed. Room and en-suite are dated but adequate for what I needed.

The bar is small but welcoming, good pint (always a bonus) and the food is fantastic! Couldn't fault it.

Breakfast was excellent every morning, full Irish served on a hot plate with plenty of juices, cereals and fruit.

Reasonably priced with great food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back here soon, possibly for leisure next time!
Kind regards,
Sinéad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night, i would recommend only taking a small carry bag of clothes, as there is no lift, and is a fair trek up flights of stairs with two big wheeled travel bags.
Room was large and comfortable enough, bed was a bit uncomfortable, however the service from reception and the breakfast was excellent.

Quite a fair way out from Wicklow.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteandshez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and warmth of the hotel.

Woodenbridge Hotel was fist licenced as a coaching in back 1608, and it is because of the history and age of the building that there is no lift in the main part of the hotel. There are 17 steps to the first floor and 16 to the second floor, and we can of course deliver your luggage to your room if required. I apologise if this service was not offered to you at the time. We do however have a lift on our lodge building, with twenty rooms on the ground floor, and twenty rooms on the first floor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Sinéad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Myself and three mates stayed at the hotel friday - sunday. Played golf at Arklow on the saturday nice course but very busy. staff were great very helpful, Played woodenbridge friday & sunday. Great course, Great service & food, again staff very freindly & helpful. Hotel was clean and comfortable food was good. Very freindly staff. Have already booked again for next year.

Bert Chambers. Ballymoney. Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Drink plenty !!! Then the room doesnt matter !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinéad O, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Bert,
It was great to see you again, we're delighted you enjoyed your golfing break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again next year.
Kind regards,
Sinéad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
4.3 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
718 reviews
21.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,076 reviews
5.2 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,145 reviews
18.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
534 reviews
13 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow Y14 XT95, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range: $60 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing