We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely olde worlde hotel, with charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Lovely olde worlde hotel, with charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here with my friend on a short trip to the South, charming hotel, good food, friendly staff, we are regular visitors to this hotel & we like the olde world charm

Room Tip: As there is no lift as for a room near the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerobrien, General Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, it is always nice to get feedback from guests, and when it is so positive it provides a nice lift to everyone working here. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you return.
Regards,
Gerard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    212
    74
    34
    11
See reviews for
110
305
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

just back from a "Falconry weekend" and it was a wonderful, would thoroughly recommend it even to people who don't think they would be interested.The two lads giving the experience were very informative and made it a great morning.
We were given a lunch to take with us by the Hotel which was very nice.The room was clean,bed comfortable,and the view spectacular.We went to Tinahealy and did the railway walk.Dinner was superb and breakfast the following morning was excellent. A walk to Avoca and back finished a perfect weekend.All the staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdub89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerobrien, General Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review, and I'm glad your stay was an enjoyable one. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Regards,
Gerard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We got married here 6 years ago and we returned to the Woodenbridge for New Year 2012 with a group a friends who all came from Scotland because we were going back! It was great as always - the New Year Gala Dinner was traditional but lots of fun, conga @ 12.01 etc - all good! Hospitality great, perfect cleanliness and great food. Very cosy and welcoming hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lodge which is lovely and airy and some rooms have views over the river - I really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinead_OShea, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the New Year Gala Dinner. Details of this years event shall be available shortly! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sinéad O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great Hotel, Lovely staff, No Problems with this hotel, can be recommednded

Room Tip: Cannot really comment, as wouldnt be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerobrien, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Enjoy the rest of your retirement trip, you’ve earned it!
Regards,
Sinéad O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay in the Woodenbridge Hotel. Everything in the hotel was immaculate, the room was perfect, good size and cleaned every day. The food in the restaurant and the bar was delicious, lots of variety. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect, while it is easy to get to from the motorway, it seems a million miles away when you get there. The walks from the hotel are amazing, there is a footpath from the hotel to the Meeting of the Waters, but you can stray off the beaten track across the copper mines or other side roads which lead to amazing views. The hotel has retained its character which is lovely to see, it hasnt got carried away with bringing everything up to the modern standards. This would take away from the hotel. We will definetely be back.

Room Tip: Book the De Valera suite. Fantastic four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerobrien, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and in particular the character of the hotel, as we believe this to be one of our strongest points. As a family run establishment, all of the staff have been with us for a number of years, and it really is a great lift to everybody when we receive such positive feedback. It’s a beautiful walk out to The Meeting of the Waters and out to the copper mines. Avoca had a strong mining tradition with copper mining as far back as 1720. In fact, the valley even made its own gold coins, samples of which can be seen in the National Museum in Dublin. There are plenty more interesting walks in the area so we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards,
Sinéad O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blessington, Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with a group of friends. Had a great time there, all the staff were very friendly. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerobrien, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay here and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Sinéad O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked a deal through pigsback and Just returned from a 2 night stay and the scales says it all. --- Service and food was wonderful -- the chicken fajita and burger on potato cake yummy --- Tea and hot scones with jam and cream served on arrival what a great idea -- the chefs and pastry chefs should be commended - excellent -- The staff in the bar were so friendly especially Magedelena who, even though she was so busy serving tea/coffee and hot scones still had a real pleasing manner and so polite .. Would recommend this hotel highly for service and food. Also room was a lovely warm temperature with a balcony looking out on the golf course. Congratulations and well done to all at Woodenbridge.

Room Tip: room 113 excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clotmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerobrien, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your praise on to both our Chef and bar staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Regards, Sinéad O'Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
4.3 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
19.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
21.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
5.2 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Property: Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing