We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to learn about Parnell but not a striking building”

Avondale House & Forest Park
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great to learn about Parnell but not a striking building”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I took a little day trip out here from Dublin and chose to check out Avondale as an alternative to Powerscourt which I have been to a few times- I enjoyed the video about Parnell (alot I forgot from school and stuff I'm sure we weren't taught!) but the house itself is a little bit on the dull side. Some gorgeous rooms and decor though in one or two rooms but it just isn't grand like other big houses of its type. Its ruined by the horrible metal barriers that are a throw back to when Coilte used it and build some really ugly 1970s prefab looking accommodation right beside the house. The cafe is dingy and needs a revamp. The parking is a bit of a rip off for sure since you pay to get into the house aswell- do what I saw 3 cars doing and park on the road (on a BEND!). The woods and river walk around the park were the highlight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orphan_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great piece of history...but agree about the parking fee :-(”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It isn't a grand house, like Powerscourt would have been, but Avondale is a real piece of history set in a beautiful site. It is worth going to see and do the house tour (which is self-guided). We did feel a little ripped-off with the parking but we forgot about it when enjoying this location in the rare, Irish sunshine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Macrel2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
680 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Excellent...worth a visit”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A wonderful place to see a little of Ireland's history. A great 15 minute film to give you the background and you are then free to peruse the building and gardens at your leisure! A wonderful afternoon spent here and a wonderful walk in the gardens. You will enjoy this and the staff are very helpful and friendly. You almost feel you know Charles Stewart Parnell at the end of the visit! Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Should Visit”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Visited Avondale House and it surpassed every expectation. Started off viewing a very interesteing and informative video. Then a very knowledgable and engaging guide took us through a very historical family home. The furniture, paintings. etc in the house are wonderful but the knowledge of the guide made the house come alive. A throughly great visit which I would recommend to all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Linz909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Day out for all!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went to Avondale house and forest park with the children and had a great day. The grounds at Avondale are spectacular and very well maintained. It was so nice to spend the day exploring the different walks Avondale has to offer. We then went to the play area which the children thoroughly enjoyed before visiting the café. The staff in the café were very friendly and helpful as I am a coeliac they had plenty to offer me. The food was reasonably priced and delicious!! I would recommend a trip to Avondale. It is such a beautiful place for a family day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jp12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avondale House & Forest Park also viewed

Ashford, County Wicklow
County Wicklow, Province of Leinster
 
Avoca, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to Avondale House & Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing