We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epitomises Irish Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverbank House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Epitomises Irish Hospitality”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed in the Hotel on the night of the 6th. As a solo traveller I was just looking for somewhere to rest and sleep with no fuss. From the moment I arrived I was greeted with smiles and optimism. A great location as it is quiet but only a couple of minutes walk into the centre of wexford town. A good or bad experience is based on how guests expectations are met, and the staff of the riverbank hotel consistently exceeded mine. They went way their job description for me. I left the Hotel thankful that the Irish Culture has still kept its character and kindness, and the Riverbank Hotel holds it high.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeldotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    120
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
105
140
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
South Kilkenny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I am just back from a nite at the Riverbank House hotel, and it is a hiden gem. The hotel was very quaint. The rooms are basic enough but very very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great too. The staff of the hotel were AMAZING AND SOOO FRIENDLY which is very unusual in Ireland nowadays!!!! The hotel was about a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants, but I would highly recommed the food in the hotel as it was really really nice and great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, NSW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Close to town, the staff were friendly, the room was a good size, breakfast was fresh cooked and delicious. Unfortunately the main thing I remember was being given a smoking room after requesting a non smoking room. The smell was revolting! We couldn't keep the window open as it was too cold and we were on the ground level. All of our clothes and luggage smelled like cigarettes for the next week or so.
For Australians who are used to strict smoking laws we were not impressed with the room. In defence of the hotel though there were no other available rooms by the time the mistake was discovered so there was no way to avoid it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWiz_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night, the food was good and common areas were nice but the room we had was very basic and a little run down. There was also no hot water in the morning for a shower :(

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed here with a group of girls for a hen weekend. Hotel do a hen package which is €99 p/p for 2 nights b&b, 1 dinner & 2 nites niteclub entry to the Stores niteclub which is a short walk across the bridge. Excellent value! The only part I would complain about is when we booked we had a choice of having dinner at the hotel or at the Yard Restaurant, we chose the yard and when we got there the waitress was going to charge us for the meal, she said she never heard of this offer although on the way out of the restaurant there were flyers advertising this very deal!! Being the person to arrange the weekend this was very embarassing as we had to sit and wait until she phoned the hotel, so in the meantime we were left wondering if we'd have to get up and leave or not.
Turned out it was included and I have to say dinner was excellent! Would not fault it at all.

The hotel itself while being a bit dated is very welcoming, had character & charm, loved the candles outside the hotel, very romantic! I would defo stay here again. The staff are the nicest and most helpful Ive ever come across! They always stop for a chat and to check everythings ok. John the night porter is a lovely man, we stayed in the residents bar until all hours and he stays there until the last person leaves. lovely lovely man.

Cannot fault this hotel at all, thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkles1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

The food was lovely but my room needs updating,,,paint work is pealing and one of the windows couldn't shut & one of the lights wouldn't work,,,but the food was lovely the chef does a great job there and the staff in the front office and serving staff do a great job and couldn't be more helpful,,also parking is an issue,,they need a bigger carpark,,,there is a pay carpark nextdoor but u pay per day and no over night parking is allowed and u must get up early to pay for the forth coming day,,,overal a nice hotel

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWDublin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is the kind of hotel that values its customers in many ways and anyone that has stayed there will always return many times thanks to the staff being so helpful and the food being so nice i would have no problem going back. in fact im getting married and the party is going to be there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hello543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2.4 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.2 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
2.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank House Hotel

Property: Riverbank House Hotel
Address: The Bridge, Wexford Y35 AH33, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverbank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Since opening the Riverbank House Hotel our aim has been to create a refreshing alternative venue for exceptional yet reasonable accommodation, good consistent food with availability all day and a level of service to be proud of. From the feedback I have received to date I am confident we have achieved, and are maintaining our goals. However we are constantly striving to improve our standards so that you ‘the customer’ receive the highest possible level of service and customer care. Whether you're passing through or a registered guest, on behalf of the management and staff, I wish you an enjoyable stay with us at The Riverbank House Hotel." Colm Campbell, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbank Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing