We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated, needs investment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverbank House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here because of the good reviews. Location good, service very friendly and polite. The room we stayed in (101) was very poor. Old carpets, broken hairdryer, mildew in shower, extractor fan filled with dust, shower curtain (these should be illegal!), generally very tired, old and not completely clean. View of a side passage/yard and musty smell topped it off. Breakfast not too bad, bacon had been cooked a while and was dry, sausages your typical cheap hotel fare, but otherwise ok. This hotel needs serious investment to bring it up to scratch.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank NickHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear NickHaz,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Riverbank following your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologise for the disappoint you felt and am humbled by your review, understandable of course when reading the many reviews before your stay which rank the Riverbank as the No.1 Hotel in Wexford, any let down would be a huge disappointment and completely understandable. Your comments are greatly appreciated, they have been investigated and acted upon. It is with reviews such as yours either positive or especially the not so positive that we can continue to do right and put right what is wrong.

Thank you once again.
Colm Campbell,
General Manager”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 429 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

not the first time we have used this hotel when catching the earler ferry to Wales. Booked a few weeks in advance and were advised that it might be a little noisy as a fuction was on. Arrived and booked in, the hotel was busy but were give a lovely room overlooking the river. Had a great nights sleep no noise at all. Breakfast is a must, great choice fresh produce and made to order.
Also as we were a little late arriving the hotel phone us before we arrived to see if we would like food left over as the resturant was closing nice touch. This is not a 5 star palace and needs a freshen up in places but I think the service is top class and rooms are clean and a decent size. Have stayed in much more expensive hotels who could learn a lot from this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear donBelfast

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Colm Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Myself, my wife and our 2 year-old went to Wexford for a few days and stayed here. We were on a one night B+B+D deal which we just did for 2 nights. The hotel is just across the bridge from Wexford town, I'd imagine a bit of a walk if you went out in the town but not drastic. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There is no actual restaurant, dinner is served in the bar and it is a popular spot but it wasn't crowded and the food was very good. The whole place could do with a revamp but it was clean and tidy. The only other thing would be that they could adjust the closer on the door going to the rooms so it wouldn't bang at night (we had the room beside it) and maybe put up a notice asking for people to keep quiet on that corridor. Also the rooms on the left of the corridor have an alley outside the window which could do with a tidy-up. All in all though a nice hotel with lovely staff.

Room Tip: maybe further down the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joedaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear joedaman

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us which I was absolutely delighted to read.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with all the team here. It is extremely heartening to read your words of praise for my colleagues as each and every one of them strive to provide a memorable experience for our guests.

Also thank you for bring entrance door to the bed rooms to our attention, I have got Kerian our maintance to adjust the spring on it, so that should solve that

I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Colm Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at the Riverbank Hotel and found it to be extremely friendly. There were several nice touches, including a surprise bedtime snack for our son. The room was fairly plain, but quite comfortable. There was a nice selection of items available for the continental breakfast. We arrived in the evening, which meant that there was no parking available in the hotel's parking lot (the restaurant is quite popular locally), but there were spaces up at the top of the hill. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courgette2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Courgette64

Many thanks for the fantastic review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Colm Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a large group last weekend. On approach, this is a really pretty hotel with loads of pots of flowers and candles outside. Its quite vintage in style inside. We had a large room on the ground floor with a very large double and a single bed. There is a shower but no bath. We were late arriving and the rest of our group had gone out to dinner so the lovely lady at reception offered to call us a taxi when we were ready to go except when we were ready, she offered us a lift instead! You don't get this level of service in most hotels. Breakfast was lovely but its only served until 10. We ate in the bar on our 2nd night and we all really enjoyed the food. On checkout we were given bottles of water for our journey. We'll definitely be back and will bring the family. Wexford is a lovely town and we loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review the Riverbank House Hotel. Please forgive the lateness of my response as seem to have missed responding but remember reading it with much appreciation at the time. I very much appreciate your thoughts and appreciation of our little hotel and hope you will return soon. Kind regards, Colm Campbell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Charming hotel across the bridge from Wexford. Stayed there because we had planned an early ferry depart next day. Extremely enjoyable and helpful staff - first time someone have given me bottels of water for the trip. OK food in the pub, aparently popular by the locals (it was full).
OK room, but the one we had did not have windows that could be opened to the outside - only to anoter summer garden room. Probably OK most parts of the year - but not in the summer.

Room Tip: Find a room with windows that can be opened to fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docadhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear docadhoc

Thank you for taking the time to review of the Riverbank and the kind words you expressed about the hotel, however I am humbled by the aspects of your stay that fell below standard and serve as a reminder of the importance of every guest and their needs. With genuine constructive criticism can we improve and for this I thank you most sincerely. To remain the highest ranked ‘Hotel’ on tripadvisor in Wexford town we must not lose sight of this. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again,
Colm Campbell,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just home from the Riverbank House Hotel - staff were fab - esp Sheila who was so good to our 2 boys (9 and 4) she was brill - reception was very friendly and approachable - food in bar was lovely and kids could stay with us while we had a quiet drink, very old style approach to decor which gives the hotel a lovely atmosphere. Def would recommend it - we were able to move around Wexford and do all the spots - loved it - will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colm C, Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Carol L

Thank you for taking your time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor on your recent stay here with us.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riverbank House Hotel.

We take great pride in our friendly and efficient staff, as well as all other aspects of our services and are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind Regards
Colm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2.4 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,680 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,568 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
2.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank House Hotel

Address: The Bridge, Wexford Y35 AH33, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Price Range: $81 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverbank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Since opening the Riverbank House Hotel our aim has been to create a refreshing alternative venue for exceptional yet reasonable accommodation, good consistent food with availability all day and a level of service to be proud of. From the feedback I have received to date I am confident we have achieved, and are maintaining our goals. However we are constantly striving to improve our standards so that you ‘the customer’ receive the highest possible level of service and customer care. Whether you're passing through or a registered guest, on behalf of the management and staff, I wish you an enjoyable stay with us at The Riverbank House Hotel." Colm Campbell, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbank Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing