We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have used this hotel several times and find it exceptional, the accommodation is extremely comfortable, and of a high standard. I find the staff very helpful and welcoming. There is a really nice leisure centre with pool, steam, jacuzzi and sauna - just the thing after a long drive. Thank you for making me feel relaxed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 862 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We got a voucher from our daughter for a two night stay at the whitford hotel recently and what a great gift it turned out to be.The bedroom was very spacious and spotless. the breakfast was the highlight of the visit so hot so freshly cooked best breakfast we were ever served in any hotel.thank you so much to the staff great visit we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recycleclonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent a night in this hotel recently. It's on a roundabout, about a km from Wexford town, so if you want to go into town you will need a car/taxi The hotel is rated 4 star, and while it was a very pleasant stay I would rate it as 3 star, with a 4 star leisure centre. We arrived at about 3pm and were shown to our room which was small but clean, modern and all we needed. we then went and had a drink at the bar, which was large, friendly, but a bit dated. We had hoped to have a meal in the restaurant, but were told that it closed early due to few bookings, and were told that we were welcome to eat in the bar. The waitress was very nice and apologetic, and while we had a lovely meal and the staff were very nice, it didn't feel very special and by the end of the evening, we felt that we'd spent the entire day in the bar. Breakfast was in the restaurant however, and the food was very good. The leisure centre was lovely, though the pool was very cold, and whatever the jacuzzi had in it made all of our eyes sting.
All in all - we would stay there again, but were glad that we stayed on a special 'deal' as I don't feel it would have been worth the extra, had we paid full price. The staff were excellent though and it would be because of them we would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

On check out I left my cat and house keys behind. Within 24 hours I had my keys back in my hand at no cost after a 180km journey. They were excellent and the hotel itself was buzzing which really adds to the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Found a good deal for bed and breakfast. The room was a little old-fashioned but perfectly nice and a good size. Really enjoyed a treatment in the spa and a swim in the pool. Fantastic food in the restaurant, really tasty Irish produce and excellent value.
However, I would agree with other comments that it is not a four-star luxury hotel. As long as you don't expect a concierge on the door and instant attention at reception, it's a perfectly nice place to stay on the outskirts of Wexford.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DagdaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We planned to stay here having booked the groupon deal. This is advertised as a four star hotel but honestly this is no way a four star. The rooms are extremely basic and need of an overhaul. The luxury feel promised was nowhere to be seen. We ate in the bar on arrival, the food was cold and did not taste good at all. When I complained about room I was very glad that the receptionist was very nice and allowed us to check out with full refund. We then headed to the ferrycarraick hotel a little further away which was much nicer and excellent for kids.
I do not believe this hotel Should be advertised as four star.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reitho56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived down at this hotel after a very wet and longer than anticipated journey to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist. We were on a groupon one night stay with free wine and when we got to our room we were a little disappointed with it as it was a superior which we paid an extra 20euros for but I would say it was quite plain for a superior room as we had no balcony or nice view. Bed was nice and big though and everything worked. There was a bottle of white wine left for us and when we phoned down to request red wine instead it was no problem and we had a very nice bottle of Chilean red. We went to eat then and decided on the restaurant as the bar was really busy and I had heard good things about it. We were greeted by a very empty dining room and we considered going back to the bar to eat but after consulting with our waitress Liz decided to stay. Were we glad we did! The food was devine and our waitress Liz couldn't have been nicer.
We finished the night listening to a great female singer in the bar and had a lovely breakfast in bed before heading home the next morning. A very pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,918 reviews
2.0 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,679 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
429 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club

Address: New Line Road, Wexford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: $79 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitford House Hotelis a 4 star hotel which prides itself on old traditions and first class facilities that ooze luxury. If your idea of a getaway break is staying in luxury hotel accommodation, indulging in fine locally sourced food while sipping a glass of wine or relaxing in a jacuzzi and hydro therapy pool followed by a decadent spa treatment, then this family run hotel is just for you. Located just 3km from medival Wexford town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitford Hotel Health And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing