We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great food, relaxing spa.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Found a good deal for bed and breakfast. The room was a little old-fashioned but perfectly nice and a good size. Really enjoyed a treatment in the spa and a swim in the pool. Fantastic food in the restaurant, really tasty Irish produce and excellent value.
However, I would agree with other comments that it is not a four-star luxury hotel. As long as you don't expect a concierge on the door and instant attention at reception, it's a perfectly nice place to stay on the outskirts of Wexford.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DagdaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 882 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

We planned to stay here having booked the groupon deal. This is advertised as a four star hotel but honestly this is no way a four star. The rooms are extremely basic and need of an overhaul. The luxury feel promised was nowhere to be seen. We ate in the bar on arrival, the food was cold and did not taste good at all. When I complained about room I was very glad that the receptionist was very nice and allowed us to check out with full refund. We then headed to the ferrycarraick hotel a little further away which was much nicer and excellent for kids.
I do not believe this hotel Should be advertised as four star.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reitho56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived down at this hotel after a very wet and longer than anticipated journey to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist. We were on a groupon one night stay with free wine and when we got to our room we were a little disappointed with it as it was a superior which we paid an extra 20euros for but I would say it was quite plain for a superior room as we had no balcony or nice view. Bed was nice and big though and everything worked. There was a bottle of white wine left for us and when we phoned down to request red wine instead it was no problem and we had a very nice bottle of Chilean red. We went to eat then and decided on the restaurant as the bar was really busy and I had heard good things about it. We were greeted by a very empty dining room and we considered going back to the bar to eat but after consulting with our waitress Liz decided to stay. Were we glad we did! The food was devine and our waitress Liz couldn't have been nicer.
We finished the night listening to a great female singer in the bar and had a lovely breakfast in bed before heading home the next morning. A very pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Found the hotel and staff to be excellent. Rooms were large, spacious and very warm for the time of the year. We had food in the bar on the two nights that we were there and found it to be excellent in both quality of food and service. Breakfast was served at table and was also excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here on a grab one deal and I must say it was a very pleasant stay .Beautiful welcome at reception, by very friendly staff, bottle of wine in bedroom free of charge. Bar staff and food excellent music in bar all over weekend fabulous. leisure centre excellent also

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned home after really enjoying a two night stay in the Whitford. Our room was lovely with a king size bed , a big ensuite and a balcony. The staff were very nice and friendly.The breakfast was great and served at the table, no queueing for it, very nice and piping hot. Will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 610dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This beautifully accoutred hotel has oodles of charm and a feel of luxury. The bedrooms are charming and immaculately furnished, scrupulously clean and comfortable. The breakfast is fabulous - I mean porridge with blueberries and whiskey infused double cream! - as well as the usual fruit, pastries, Irish cooked and salmon. The staff are friendly and efficient. The bar meals are tasty and reasonably priced. I haven't beenm in the restaurant for dinner, but if it is like everything else, I suspect it's rather good. I'm here on business and couldn't wish for a better place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,696 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,586 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
433 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
24.2 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club

Address: New Line Road, Wexford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: $74 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitford House Hotelis a 4 star hotel which prides itself on old traditions and first class facilities that ooze luxury. If your idea of a getaway break is staying in luxury hotel accommodation, indulging in fine locally sourced food while sipping a glass of wine or relaxing in a jacuzzi and hydro therapy pool followed by a decadent spa treatment, then this family run hotel is just for you. Located just 3km from medival Wexford town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitford Hotel Health And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing