We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated, but excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Had a lovely 3 day stay in Whitford House. Everything was spotless and the rooms and restaurant/bar were comfortable, if not the most modern in the world. More importantly, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was great (though the extra helpings of chips or mash, even with pasta, were unneccessary!).

Best feature was the pool, really tremendous, child friendly, and with great spa facilities and water features.

Location isn't ideal, you can't really wander into town on foot, so you would need a car.

Room Tip: Ring to book a room, we got much better prices than any offered online.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecorpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
There are newer reviews for Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 797 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel offers a very good service and the staff bend over backwards to keep you happy.the seasons restuarant is top class and the table staff really know their stuff and how to make you feel at home,the food on offer is some of the best I have the pleasure to enjoy, but dont ask to see where it is cooked,I asked and was turned down..what are they hiding in there ? As for the bar,well pop in and you will find a great place for a drink or for some great bar food and a bar man who is a delight to meet .The room we had was very clean and was kept that way by a lovely young girl who is an asset to the hotel with her lovely manner.Our over all experience in the Whitford was one which will see us both heading back again as do a lot of other guests which I had the pleasure to chat with.Car parking on the grounds is grand and cars are very safe over night.

Room Tip: Go for a superior delux
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank icom49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have just returned from a three night midweek stay at the Whitford House Hotel.
From start to finish the whole stay was marvellous. The staff are efficient, friendly and warm. The hotel certainly deserves its four star rating. The rooms are spacious and quiet.
We had food every evening in the bar, it was of an exceptionally high standard and reasonably priced. Again the staff were friendly and chatted to us.
We will definetley return here.!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Lovely friendly warm welcome on arrival. Our bags were brought up to our room .
The room itself was very nice and the balcony was a lovely treat overlooking the gardens at the back of the hotel. I loved the spacious bathroom but unfortunately the shower was dreadful. When I turned it on first it ran too hot so, after minor adjustment it was ok but then suddenly ran too cold or turned into a trickle. Second day the showerhead actually came undone and fell on my foot, frightening the living daylights out of me. I reported it to reception and they appologised and had the problem sorted immediately. Stuff like that I can live with once the problem is sorted.
We had one evening meal in the Restaurant , as part of our package and it was absolutely delicious.( I am a very picky eater and Restaurants go off my list very quickly if they don't come up to scratch) The breakfast service was excellent .......promptly served !!
We ate in the bar also and the quality of the food and the service was again, excellent.

It is so nice to stay in a hotel where everyone is so friendly and helpful and it's not put on........they actually mean it. Well done Whitford House Hotel, we will definitely be back .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Passenger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

As a result of a conversation with a receptionist at the hotel over the phone, during which she referred to balconies, patios, spas and lodges...I thought I would be staying in a stately home of some kind. Therefore, I was a little disappointed when I saw the hotel even though someone who had stayed there had recommended it to me. Their use of the available space was amazing. Our bedroom was spacious, extremely well-equipped and had a patio. The bathroom was the best hotel bathroom I've ever seen...spacious, modern and very clean as was the bedroom. We had dinner on one night and breakfast both mornings...we could not find fault with anything. The staff were uniformly excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient. By the end of our short stay, I had been won over. This hotel deserves to do well because they do all they can to ensure the customer enjoys their stay. A local told me that they benefit from a lot of repeat business which doesn't surprise me. I look forward to my next visit. There is a pool and spa centre but we did not make time to visit it at all as there is so much to do in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect...very spacious and well-equipped. Any other room I saw seemed to be fine excep...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarolDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Regular visits to Whitford House Hotel over the past good few years. The rooms are always spotless and the restaurant is one of the better hotel restaurants in the south of Ireland. The food is always superb and the service excellent. The hotel is very well located close to Wexford town and within easy reach of great beaches. Rosslare is only a short drive and JFK arboretum and park close by.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Having a rare good weekend weather wise we booked this hotel for a one night break. Being from the area we are familiar with the hotel to stop and have bar food which is always excellent. This hotel is owned and family run and it shows in the pride which is taken by the professional staff. The rooms have an old fashioned feel but are large and spotless. Dinner which was excellent was included in our package and because the weather was beautiful we were able to dine al fresco. An added bonus!
We decided to stay in the bar which had entertainment probably not for anyone under 35!
Breakfast was excellent which again was served al fresco if you choose.
This hotel is a gem and one which I would have no hesitation in recommending either for a stay or bar food. We will definately return here again and again if the same standards are maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noeleen-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,533 reviews
2.0 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
422 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club

Address: New Line Road, Wexford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: $83 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitford House Hotelis a 4 star hotel which prides itself on old traditions and first class facilities that ooze luxury. If your idea of a getaway break is staying in luxury hotel accommodation, indulging in fine locally sourced food while sipping a glass of wine or relaxing in a jacuzzi and hydro therapy pool followed by a decadent spa treatment, then this family run hotel is just for you. Located just 3km from medival Wexford town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitford Hotel Health And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing