We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel,!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel,!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have just returned from a three night midweek stay at the Whitford House Hotel.
From start to finish the whole stay was marvellous. The staff are efficient, friendly and warm. The hotel certainly deserves its four star rating. The rooms are spacious and quiet.
We had food every evening in the bar, it was of an exceptionally high standard and reasonably priced. Again the staff were friendly and chatted to us.
We will definetley return here.!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    215
    53
    18
    13
See reviews for
256
314
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Lovely friendly warm welcome on arrival. Our bags were brought up to our room .
The room itself was very nice and the balcony was a lovely treat overlooking the gardens at the back of the hotel. I loved the spacious bathroom but unfortunately the shower was dreadful. When I turned it on first it ran too hot so, after minor adjustment it was ok but then suddenly ran too cold or turned into a trickle. Second day the showerhead actually came undone and fell on my foot, frightening the living daylights out of me. I reported it to reception and they appologised and had the problem sorted immediately. Stuff like that I can live with once the problem is sorted.
We had one evening meal in the Restaurant , as part of our package and it was absolutely delicious.( I am a very picky eater and Restaurants go off my list very quickly if they don't come up to scratch) The breakfast service was excellent .......promptly served !!
We ate in the bar also and the quality of the food and the service was again, excellent.

It is so nice to stay in a hotel where everyone is so friendly and helpful and it's not put on........they actually mean it. Well done Whitford House Hotel, we will definitely be back .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passenger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

As a result of a conversation with a receptionist at the hotel over the phone, during which she referred to balconies, patios, spas and lodges...I thought I would be staying in a stately home of some kind. Therefore, I was a little disappointed when I saw the hotel even though someone who had stayed there had recommended it to me. Their use of the available space was amazing. Our bedroom was spacious, extremely well-equipped and had a patio. The bathroom was the best hotel bathroom I've ever seen...spacious, modern and very clean as was the bedroom. We had dinner on one night and breakfast both mornings...we could not find fault with anything. The staff were uniformly excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient. By the end of our short stay, I had been won over. This hotel deserves to do well because they do all they can to ensure the customer enjoys their stay. A local told me that they benefit from a lot of repeat business which doesn't surprise me. I look forward to my next visit. There is a pool and spa centre but we did not make time to visit it at all as there is so much to do in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect...very spacious and well-equipped. Any other room I saw seemed to be fine excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Regular visits to Whitford House Hotel over the past good few years. The rooms are always spotless and the restaurant is one of the better hotel restaurants in the south of Ireland. The food is always superb and the service excellent. The hotel is very well located close to Wexford town and within easy reach of great beaches. Rosslare is only a short drive and JFK arboretum and park close by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank unigis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Having a rare good weekend weather wise we booked this hotel for a one night break. Being from the area we are familiar with the hotel to stop and have bar food which is always excellent. This hotel is owned and family run and it shows in the pride which is taken by the professional staff. The rooms have an old fashioned feel but are large and spotless. Dinner which was excellent was included in our package and because the weather was beautiful we were able to dine al fresco. An added bonus!
We decided to stay in the bar which had entertainment probably not for anyone under 35!
Breakfast was excellent which again was served al fresco if you choose.
This hotel is a gem and one which I would have no hesitation in recommending either for a stay or bar food. We will definately return here again and again if the same standards are maintained.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noeleen-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Whitford House Hotel is friendly and obliging. The staff can not do enough for the guest.
The bar food was superior and good value. Best kids menu I ever saw to include real food not just the token nuggets and chips!! Desserts had (almost too) enticing names with film title included!
Beds were adequate and room spotless. Leisure centre is fabulous with a whirl pool for kids!!
One small hitch (which stopped them being excellent) was the beds were only dressed with a sheet and scratchy oldfashioned granny blanket - no bed spread, ruffle, duvet, comforter!! When I asked for a less scratchy blanket I was told there was a shortage of duvets!!! Strange not to have enough at high season!
The bar has live music and its charming to see people up dancing a waltz!
Highly reccommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel as the corridors were noisy and got an old fashioned key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aranvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Was very impressed with stay. Midweek break with my wife (60's). Hotel area slightly old fashioned but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Very nice people and excellent service in all areas. Food was very good with "country" portion sizes - nobody would go hungry here.
Probably incidental to review but was hugely impressed at how a family owned and run hotel was working hard to combat the downturn (and NAMA opposition). Creative small things like newspapers at hugely reduced prices and in the bar running local buses out 3/4 miles for customers, music of different types most evenings (with plenty of dancers).
Deserve to prosper.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishsquashplayerST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,810 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,511 reviews
2.0 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
419 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club

Property: Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Address: New Line Road, Wexford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitford House Hotelis a 4 star hotel which prides itself on old traditions and first class facilities that ooze luxury. If your idea of a getaway break is staying in luxury hotel accommodation, indulging in fine locally sourced food while sipping a glass of wine or relaxing in a jacuzzi and hydro therapy pool followed by a decadent spa treatment, then this family run hotel is just for you. Located just 3km from medival Wexford town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitford Hotel Health And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing