We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talbot Wexford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for one nice when I was down in wexford for the weekend. The hotel is located right in the middle of the town and is easy to walk anywhere. The staff were were very friendly on check-in and during breakfast. The room was clean and quite spacious. I would stay there again if I was staying in wexford.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb10102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Quay Front location allows our guests to “park up” and experience all the very best Wexford Town has to offer on foot.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in this fantastic hotel with husband and 2 kids (aged 4 & 2), we booked a suite as extra room for kids etc, from the minute we walked in the door till our departure the staff were fantastic, anything we asked for we were accommodated. We had an excellent view and the the location of the hotel is perfect - right along the quays and the train stop outside the hotel door. The food was fantasic we ate in the restaurant one night and the bar the following night, they offer a very good and keenly priced kids menu also, breakfast is a buffet style and lots of choice of cereals/fruit/breads and also cooked breakfast. There is a kids club in the hotel which operates from 6pm to 9.30pm and the kids all eat together and are then brought up to playroom upstairs and different activites each evening which ends in a movie, this is free and run by the hotel and all you pay for is the kids food. The only downside which is very minor is no fridge in the room as we missed this as stayed while weather was quite warm. Will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieWestofIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Wexford.

I am thrilled that both you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We have put a lot of time into developing our Talbot Tigers Kids Club so I am glad to hear that the Little Ones enjoyed it!

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit. Make sure to say hello!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

we stayed at the Talbot for the second year running (15 of us ) and as before we were treated like we were old friends, its a first class hotel spotlessly clean and the staff are brilliant, looking forward to next year, Gerry collier, mumbles motor boat & fishing club

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachlisnic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Gerry,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with us and for your much valued custom.

It was an absolute pleasure to look after both you and the members of the Mumbles Motor Boat & Fishing Club.! I am so glad that once again you found your recent stay with us to be an enjoyable one!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Grand hotel, food was lovely in the bar and for the wedding reception. Our room was grand size but we kept the curtains closed because our view was the air ducts on the roof. Only downer was the choice at breakfast other wise our stay was fine.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Wexford.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you're lucky enough to get a good view of the Irish Sea, this is a great place to stay for a couple of nights. It is close to several castles/historically interesting places. The restaurant is good. A little pricey, but good. Breakfast was great! They also had free internet IN THE ROOM - something most do not.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online and for your much valued custom.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Wexford.
We hope to welcome you back again soon to experience some more of what Wexford has to offer!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice enough hotel without being excellent. Service friendly and helpful. Public areas were well presented and modern but our room was a little 'tired' and dated. The attached bar was ok if a little pricey. We enjoyed our stay in Wexford but that was probably more down to the town. The Talbot, in our opinion, served a function. It was pleasant enough without being spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavinb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review online. We really do appreciate it when our guests take time to give us feedback.

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us at the Talbot Wexford was a disappointing one. To date we have currently refurbished over 30 Bedrooms in the past year and have plans in place for further refurbishments on a phased basis.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit, where we would be more than happy to allocate you one of our best rooms.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here as we wanted to do a couple of day trips to Hook Lighthouse, Duncannon, Fethered and other areas around Wexford and used the Hotel as our base. Perfect location! Claire the receptionist is a gem, warm and friendly. Our room was on the 5th floor (room 352), great modern design room over looking the sea. The bar food is great value for money with a wide menu. It was full every time we came in - the locals seem to eat here also, with music in the evening - very entertaining. Restaurant dinner was lovely, typical of hotel restaurant food. For value, we'd eat again in the bar as it was so lovely. As it was the August Bank Holiday in Ireland, there were a lot of children around as they have a leisure centre and kids club, but it wasn't a problem, we planned our eating at times when it was quieter with children - the reception was very helpful in this regard. The only picky think is that the breakfast hotel buffet is not self service and needed a staff member to serve you, but she was more times missing than available so you have to wait some time and a queue can form. The hair dryer in the bedroom was one of those "hoover" tubes - hardly blowing any air out - bring your own! Overall a lovely experience - the staff in this hotel are their main asset and provide great customer service. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor - 5, room 352
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikerGerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Talbot Wexford. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to post your review online.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here in the Sunny South East.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. We have some great Autumn/Winter Short breaks available for the coming months so keep your eyes peeled!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,576 reviews
2 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
431 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
865 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#3 Family Hotel in Wexford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: $59 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing