We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anderson Hen Party”
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Wexford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at the Talbot at the weekend with a hen party of about 15 females. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful trying their best to fulfil our requests. Caroline H on reception deserves a special mention as she took our booking and promised we would be well looked after, we were, we really were! We were all really happy with our rooms, spacious bright clean and sea views. The breakfast was lovely no complaints and the breakfast staff were charming and funny. We booked dinner at the hotel for the Saturday night, we were given a little alcove area which was seperate from the other dinners, this was a really lovely thoughtful touch from the hotel again! Another hen party was hosted in a private room behind us but this in no way intruded on our experience. The food was delicious with no long waits, in fact many of us agreed if we had known the food was that good we would have eaten in the hotel both nights! The staff in general were so charming and accomodating and took our (unintrusive) antics with the humour it was meant in! Rory and Luke the night porters also deserve a mention for their humour especially. They dealt with us with charm when we arrived back from the stores night club on both nights even adhering to the demand for toast, an impulsivs craving we all had having forgotten to stop for chips etc on the way back. The talbot is a hotel I would without doubt recommend not only for a girly weekend but for families and couples who value personable staff good food clean rooms comfort and entertainment!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room on 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebhinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Wexford and for taking the time to post a review of your recent Hen Weekend stay weekend with us.
It was an absolute pleasure to look after your group and I am just thrilled that you all enjoyed your weekend with us.
We take pride in our fantastic team of staff here so I am glad you could experience this first hand.
We look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again at the Talbot Wexford again soon!

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights great place ask for sea view,its location on the promenade is great also 3 mins.walk from main shopping street.Can't go wrong nice rooms,excellent bar and food.They seem to have entertainment most nights at about 21-30 hrs,we stayed on a wednesday and the gentleman singing was great!Super breakfast,full marks for hot plates for cooked food!Good hotel

Room Tip: Their is a nice smoking area if you like the weed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have searched long and hard to offer a great selection of musicians to play for our guests, so I am very pleased that you enjoyed the music.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Talbot Wexford again in the future

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Booked a family room,Got a room on the 1st floor. It was absolutely manky.Walls dirty, beds dirty looking-not even dressed properly, curtain rail crooked and carpet FILTHY.I was then offered a different room on the first floor.This was even worse.Eventually we got moved to the 5th floor which was lovely. Totally different decor and was very clean.Once we got moved our stay improved. Staff were lovely, food was devine, breakfast was fab and the loaction was spot on. First impressions were awful.The standard of the first floor was not up to scratch for a 4star hotel. There's nicer hostels out there. Even the corridor for the 1st floor hadnt seen a hoover in months. Clumps of dust everywhere. Its a shame really as the hotel has so much potential

Room Tip: Stay away from the first floor- alternatively bring your hoover/duster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cailin_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.
I am disappointed to hear that you weren’t happy with your rooms during your recent stay with us. However I have noted your comments and take them on board. We are and have been for the past year refurbishing the Hotel on phased basis. Over 20 bedrooms have been refurbished in the past few months.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to visit us again in the near future, so that we can ensure that your next stay with us is a much more enjoyable one.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very good hotel - family room sizes quite good. Broadband very poor on the 4th floor and we could never connect from our hotel room. The hotel restaurant was very good and catered well for all the family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Talbot Wexford and for posting a review of your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that both you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments about the poor WiFi connection on the 4th Floor and will look into the matter.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford in the near future. We have some fantastic Family Fun packages now available for the Summer months so keep your eyes peeled !

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our room at Talbot hotel was Ok. I missed the possibility to iron my dress,but otherwise the room was equipped as normal.But - if you sleep light it might be difficult to have a full night sleep.The Hotel is old,and sounds from People talking,walking and even coughing is easily heard.
The hotel is a huge building,nice old wooden carvings and decorations.There are several sitting areas,all Nice and well kept.
The staff is very helpful and takes care of the guests in a friendly way.
The breakfast was the same every day,eggs and bacon,Not so interesting after a couple of days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.I did not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nora222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

very friendly staff, always obliging to our every need. the best location, close to shopping areas,easily accessible especially after our day trips. good food. loved the breakfast.will definately be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayxfabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience with us at the Talbot Wexford.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here overnight on a Sunday promotion with a sea view room, breakfast and dinner included just 89 euro for two. The hotel is in an excellent spot, just a few minutes walk from all the buzz of Wexford's main street. The view was excellent, the room was clean perhaps a little small but it had everything one would expect. The evening dinner was of a far higher quality than we expected for the price we paid, It would be extremely difficult to remember having tastier fresher cod than was served, it literally melted on the tongue it was so fresh, accompanied by a good choice of seasonal veg, we had asian spring roll starters, nicer than expected, and finished with a very nice tiramisu, the ambience was lovely and the staff excellent and attentive. Unfortunately we missed breakfast due to falling asleep so late as it was extremely difficult to sleep with the heat in the room (early May), we left the window open but had to listen to a lot of traffic and passerby noise and also the noise of residents arriving back to the hotel late at night as we were beside the lift. We would stay in the Talbot again but not in the seaview rooms on the 3rd floor in order to get some sleep. We would highly recommend a trip to Greenacres restaurant for lunch, the food and wine and service are excellent, you can also enjoy the fine art and sculptures in the gallery and take away fabulous treats, if you are a food and wine buff this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The front desk staff say a higher floor would be quieter, or a room without the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpbrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the tome to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Talbot Wexford.
Our €89 offer really was exceptional value, I am glad you got to sample all we have to have for such an incredible price!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to visit again soon, to sample some more of what the Talbot Wexford has to offer.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,566 reviews
2.0 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
429 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
860 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#3 Family Hotel in Wexford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: $79 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing