We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with beautiful harbour view”
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talbot Wexford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. The bar prices remained the same all night, not like some wedding venues I have been at where they rise every hour (a practice that I think is despicable). The food was great and there were lots of friendly staff available. Our room on the 5th (top) floor was really great with lovely views of the beautiful Wexford Harbour and Raven Point in the distance.

Breakfast had everything that you could think of and lots of space in the bar and lobby for chatting before heading for home.
Hotel has free parking and wifi. Cant remember if wifi was free.
There are 2 fast lifts and a fine stairs to get you to and from your rooms. I was told that there is a vending machine on the first floor, which is handy. I would highly recommend this place for a stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a harbour view and near the top floor if possible. The afternoon tea for two for les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Talbot Wexford and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
We are renowned throughout the County for our sheer professionalism and superior service,We enjoy playing our part to help make each of our Wedding Couples day special. I am glad you enjoyed the Wedding and every aspect of your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in the Talbot Hotel for 3 nights as I was attending a conference in Wexford. The Staff were very friendly and the rooms were very nice, mine had a sea view. The bed was very comfortable and the telly huge. The leisure facilities were what stole the show! Excellent and very well equipped gym accompanied by a pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The only negative I had was that the breakfast although good was served from those buffet canteen trays and then heated for you under a lamp. It should either be buffet or menu and waiter service.

Room Tip: Mine was near a fire door and lift but no where near as loud as most of the other hotels I've st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dermot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am thrilled that overall you enjoyed your recent stay with us and enjoyed our Quay Leisure centre.
We hope to welcome you back to us at the Talbot Wexford again soon, make sure to say hello!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with the girlfriend, we had a voucher to use, its a nice looking hotel, lovely bar, bar food was lovely too. Having access to the pool and gym was great, i made sure to go down to the pool both days i was there. All the staff int he hotel were friendly and helpfull. The only complaint i would have is the room, it was very small for the price we paid in the voucher, and the bed was like sleeping on a huge rock, was no way comfortable. And the signal for the TV was terrible, kept jumping and going off, very annoying when you just want to relax in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for your much valued feedback.

We are currently in the process of updating our bedrooms on a phased basis. At the moment we have already updated over 45 bedrooms in the past two years.
I do hope you will visit us again, just mention your last stay and we will try to allocate you one of our best rooms.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We came here just for the evening as I had a Half Marathon which started just outside the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and service in both the bar and the restaurant was great and food very tasty. We have 2 children (age 3 + 4) and they loved the swimming pool and hotel was family friendly. The room could probably do with a little freshening up in terms of decor but was otherwise clean and comfortable. The only negative was that our keycard for the room did not work so had to go back down to get it reset. It worked again for the remainder of the evening but the next morning again would not work which was a little frustrating as was in a rush, staff were very friendly and sorted it very quickly.

Room Tip: We chose a sea view and would definitely recommend as nice to look out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahSpanner1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Talbot Wexford and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your short stay with us after competing in the Half Marathon, it was such a fantastic day we were proud to be part of it.
I am glad the issue with the Keycard was quickly rectified by one of our team.
We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon, we have some fantastic Family Fun Packages available for the Summer months so keep your eyes peeled!

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were a group of 6, 3 x twin rooms. The rooms were clean, with tea and coffee facilities. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The food in the bar was very good. The gym facilities were good, although it is a bit of walk to get to them. Only issue was a couple of people mentioned that their beds were a little uncomfortable. Overall we had a lovely stay, breakfast was also included and plentiful. I would recommend this hotel to people staying in Wexford. Parking was free and directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonya_m415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvsior.
We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just back from a great night in the Talbot Hotel with a long overdue night away with the girls. We were checked in by Nessa who was very friendly, after a run down of the layout off we went to our room on the 4th floor over looking the water. Room was spotless & warm with a Double & Single Bed. We headed to the bar for a glass of wine and as we arrived at the bar we were quick to be served by a friendly barman. Our friends arrived a little later than expected and as our dinner reservation was quick approaching i headed back to reception to see if we could delay it slightly. Even though i could see by the bookings it was very busy our reservation was moved. We headed into the dinner room and after being seated and given a menu it just got better, we all loved the menu and it was hard to make a choice. Starter main and dessert, fabulous and definitely worth a return trip. All staff again very friendly and checked on us throughout our meal. Headed to the bar as we were told their was music on. We secured a seat and again got our drinks from the bar with no waiting about. Music was ok but didn't really get the crowd going but i wouldn't let this put anyone off. Breakfast the next morning was lovely and got great comments from our group. Checked out with Sinead which was quick, friendly and with a "We hope to see you back again" i am already planning a night away with the Hubby this time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helpfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your much valued custom and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvsior.
I am so glad you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Talbot lives up to positive reviews. stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 2 kids under 5. food and rooms are perfect. ate in hotel bar both nights and food was nice. bar is inviting and has character. lobby is great and gives a great 1st impression. staff were great and must be commended for their friendliness. leisure club is good and pool is great for kids. location is perfect, right by town centre. stayed in radissons, clarions etc around the country and this 4star probably tops them.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriarTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad we impressed all the family! We have such a fantastic team of staff that strive to go above and beyond for all of our guests.

We like to think that we can be a “Home away from Home” for all of our guests- of every age.

We hope to welcome you all back again very soon. We have some fantastic, great value Summer Family Fun packages planned for the Summer Holidays, which I am sure you will all enjoy.

Thanking you again for your much valued custom.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,598 reviews
2 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,993 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
874 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#3 Family Hotel in Wexford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: $58 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing