We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super”
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Wexford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
drogheda
1 review
“super”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

we had great time staff super friendly food good,great parking leisure centre very good,
but most important craic with staff. the staff made it for us, reception with information on places to see and what to do. waiters on menu with what to eat and as only the irish can, have fun with what we should drink, we will be back and have told all our friends its the hotel to visit

Room Tip: we had rooms 143, 144 they were so quiet no passing traffic were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for your kind comments.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were well looked after by our wonderful team of staff.
We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    503
    197
    88
    39
See reviews for
430
649
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

great location -really good rooms--excellent leisure centre --good food --staff very friendly and efficient--excellent athmosphere and good music in bar at night.excellent value breaks on offer. siuitable for all ages and handy location for golfers with good courses nearby. free parking also a plus.

Room Tip: 10e extra per night for sea view --but really how long are you going to be in room looking out the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186605Johnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to sincerley thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for your much valued custom.

I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We pride ourselves on being like a ‘home away from home’ for our guests so I’m delighted you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us, and made the most of all we have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again in the future and make sure to say hello!

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The website for the hotel has 4 stars on the homepage. This does not feel remotely like a 4 star hotel. The room was pretty jaded in decor and furnishing. A very average three star.
The room I was in had a dodgy door lock which meant you were never certain that the door was fully locked. We also had a visit from newly checked in guests who had been given a key card to our room....Made my complaint about it to the reception.
Would be slow to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franmol7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am dissapointed to hear that you were not happy with your room and i would like to apologise for the mix up with your room. It is very unsual for this to have happened.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again to ensure that your next stay with us is a much more enjoyable one , just make our reservations department aware of your past experience upon booking so we can ensure your room is upgraded on return.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very friendly staff amazin restaurant food .good location not far from centre lots shops and pubs.excellent entertainment lovely pool and spa . Could not fault a thing our second visit will defiantly go back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carvicNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really apreciate you taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and i would also like to thank you for your much valued custom.

I am delighted you once again enjoyed you stay with us and took full advantage of our wonderful location.

We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was the way the provide the Wi Fi as any hotel I've ever stayed in you didn't have to reconnect or go true the bother of getting new codes , I know it's a very small complaint as everything else was excellent .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariaxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for your much valued custom.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to visit us in the Talbot Wexford again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdare wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

been to wexford many times and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed at!!
situated 5 mins from town centre,bars etc.lovely view overlooking the sea.
food was amazing-breakfast choice was great.
staff very helpful and friendly.10/10

Room Tip: we had 4 rooms and each one was excellent so i wouldnt worry about room quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for your much valued custom.

We look forward to wlecoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again in near future- we have some great offers at the moment for the coming months so keep your eyes peeled!

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is nicely situated on the quays in Wexford town and has ample parking. The lobby is very nice, modern and colourful. We paid the extra 20 euro for a sea view, but we were disappointed. When we entered the room, the first thing we saw was the apartment block across the way. When you stand to the side of the window, you can see the sea! We didn't argue the toss as you could see the sea - but we wished we'd checked out the room first before upgrading.

We liked the room and the bed was a good size and very comfortable. The room was nicely decorated and the TV had an excellent picture and lots of channels. A few things - the panel on the bath was coming away, the toilet flush wasn't great and the bottom of the inside hotel door was peeling away. Not a four-star finish. We didn't get our room cleaned and thought it was a nice touch to find a bag full of fresh towels, shower products and tea/coffee/milk outside our door.

I've never stayed in a hotel with such good soundproofing and I was glad of it when the people next door were shouting and playing music in the early hours and I could hardly hear it. Plus we didn't hear any traffic noise.

There wasn't much choice on the dinner menu - and it was quite old-style (melon starter). And the €8 and €10 supplements on the steaks are the highest supplements I've ever seen. Dessert was an assiette - so while a choice, not a choice as it was the only dessert offered to us. We had to ask the waiter to remove our dessert plates after he took the effort to place our coffees strategically around the empty plates.

The breakfast was very nice. No complaints about the food. However, the service was blase. The waitress told us to pull out the table and chairs after my husband's chair nearly went through the grate it was resting on.

The facilities were very good - a well equipped gym and a swimming pool.

In all, a nice hotel, but some enthusiasum and a friendly smile would go a long way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicnac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write your review.

I am disappointed that you feel your room and your experience in our Oyster Lane Restaurant let you down. It is most unusual to hear such comments, I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention I will certainly look into this further.

I do hope you will visit us again where we will allocate you one of our best rooms and try to ensure that your next experience with us will be much more enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,512 reviews
2.0 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
836 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Property: Talbot Wexford
Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#3 Family Hotel in Wexford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing