We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel room was alittle small”
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talbot Wexford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Food and staff were excellent the man filling the wine out at paddy hefernans party was the best i have ever come across the beef was also cooked to perfection the music was great the only complaint i have was the hangover and that was self inflicted

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neveager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us (despite the hangover!). I think the man you had met was Michael Kelly our wonderful Bar Manager. He is renowned across Wexford Town and beyond for his sparkling personality.

We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,713 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

just back from weekend in wexford n talbot and had a good weekend,good bar, good music, dinner good, breakfast was great especially the fry bread ,[great touch].only nag is that the rooms rates are too varied and costley not like their sister hotel in carlow which i stayed in afew weeks ago and was much better rooms and all same price.
rooms have improved since last visit and views from both bed and bathrooms were great, corner room 5th floor,
need to check out beds for sticking up springs before guests arrive and check damaged doors too

will be back but need all rooms priced better,

Room Tip: top floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddywack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed in the Talbot Wexford for two nights in early February and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Wexford. The hotel is situated in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the main streets, shops, bars and restaurants. We had a lovely spacious, quiet room on the 5th floor with great views of the harbour and the quays. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Friday night and received excellent, friendly service as well as a lovely meal. The staff in the bar and on reception were also very efficient and helpful. Overall we had a very enjoyable, relaxing stay and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We find that our guests love being able to park their cars in our complimentary car parks and experience Wexford on foot.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your break with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

on arriving at the hotelon Sunday the 3rd Feb myself and my husband were made feel very welcoming by the young receptionist. Our room was very pleasant and we had a lovely view overlooking the habour
Breakfast and dinner was lovely well presented and served by very pleasant and efficient staff
We enjoyed the music in the bar on the Tuesday night .
Over all it was a very enjoyable stay and I think its down to the staff we encountered during our stay they made us feel very much at ease and nothing was too much bother

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to post you review on Tripadvisor.

I am thrilled to hear that both you and your husband had a very enjoyable break with us and experienced our first class service first hand. We like to think that we provide a “Home away from Home” for our guest and it is largely down to our fantastic team of hardworking staff that we are able to achieve this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again soon.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

we spent 3 nights in this hotel recently, it was a very enjoyable stay, the food was excellent and so was the service, the rooms are adequate but they do not have a mini bar or fridge and the tv reception was poor also the channels need reconfigurating, however i would reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: get a room at the front of the hotel with a view of the quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Novelty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Talbot Wexford and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My Brother and His new wife had their wedding reception in the Talbot hotel recently and I have to say it was excellent, the food was fantastic and the service was great too. My only complaint was that our room was exceptionally warm and a bit on the small side, we could not sleep with the heat in the room and that was after turning the heating off, my parents were in the room opposite and they found it so unbarable that my dad left the hotel at 6am and went home to get a few hours sleep! Everything apart from that was very good, very nice breakfast in the morning and the staff again were very nice through out.

Room Tip: If you can at all afford a waterfront room go for them as they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 880Ellen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

our stay in the talbot was for a wedding. We arrived the day before. Our room was average, overlooking the kitchen fans. We could smell Breakfast cooking from our room at 6.30am and the fans were very annoying. There was no air in the hotel. Windows in room were locked. Had to open door onto hallway to desteam the mirrors post showering. The toilet blocked. The tiles in bathroom were very mouldy. On the morning of checkout at 11.30 the cleaner walked into room without knocking, checkout was 12.Room was very disappointing. Facilities book stated tv channels were rte tv3 etc but only bbc ch4.
The wedding reception was very good. bar food also looked good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavinf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,598 reviews
2 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
872 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#3 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: $59 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing