We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second visit here.”
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Wexford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“My second visit here.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Wexford is around 12 miles from Rosslare ferry port so a convenient place to stay on the first or last night of a trip. The Talbot occupies most of a block on the edge of the town centre which is in easy walking distance. It has a modern frontage flanked by a large pub and restaurant. At the back there is a gym and pool (bathing caps required for some reason). Both are a bit dated but perfectly acceptable. There is plenty of free parking.

I had a modern sea facing room with most facilities (no biscuits!) and free wifi access. It was comfortable and the view of the breaking waves out to sea gave me an idea how rough my crossing was going to be next morning!

I would consider staying here again in future. I will also check out Whites which is a new hotel in the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    500
    196
    86
    39
See reviews for
426
643
51
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

On 5th November 2012 our group of 15 "aged males and females" 3 days B/B with dinner In the Talbot, Wexford. We go off each year around this time and having spen the last 4 years in Mayo we decided to venture to a new destination. The reception we received on arrival and the friendleness and helpfullness of all the staff throughout our 3 days was 100%.
Breakfast and dinner food selections were excellent and the quality top quality. Being centrally located, overlooking the harbour and River Slaney, in one of Ireland most historic towns there are numerous interesting attractions in the immediate area. A walk through the pedestrian shopping precinct with it's varied selection of cafes and retaurants is a must. Slightly further afield are the ferry port of Rosslare, the lovely fishing port of Kilmore Quay and just over an hours drive on the shores of the Waterford Estuary is the Hook Lighthouse with it's very nice visitors centre.
The famous Wexford "Wet Lands" with its variety of migrating and resident birds was one of the highlights of our visit to Wexford.
Finally, after a full day exploring the many attractions in the area there is nothing better than to relax in the swimming pool, sauna or jacussi, even a spell in the gym, before dinner.

Room Tip: Just ak for a room overlooking the Harbour and River
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a Saturday night with my two daughters.The car park was very full and it was quite difficult to get a space. We arrived around 14.30 and were told our room would be ready in about 45 mins, official check in time is 16.00. We went to the bar to have a snack while we were waiting. Bar was very busy and noisy with rugby match on tv. Not a great ambience. Waiters seemed very stressed initially when we asked for a table it was "find one if you can" attitude. As the crowd diminished however they were pleasant and helpful. Our room was fine but as one of my daughters has additional needs and needs a bath rather than shower we asked for a move which was no problem. Room was warm and comfortable, fittings a bit dated. Bitbuzz wifi was free but it never works on my smart phone. We ate in the lobby/lounge area in the evening, menu was fine, service good and nice ambience. Breakfast was usual hotel fare. Check out was quick and bill accurate.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misspettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on saturday night. paid €95 b and b. my room was small. the window was broken which i only realised when i got back in early hours, so i was cold all night as the wind was blowing in. i was in the hotel with a group of friends all over 40s. one person in our group forgot to pay his food bill (€23) and the manager later on accused us of not paying. his attitude and manner was not very professional. the waitress should have chased up the bill at the time. another member of our group paid for the food bill ( on behalf of the person). overall the people in wexford were very friendly but the staff of the hotel have the attitude that "all dublin people are scumbags" but they forget that we are spending money in bad times. if we were tourists i think they would have been a little more Cead Mile Failte towards us. so hence will not be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staff very friendly and attentive, accomodaion comfrotable and clean, breakfast had a wide choice and was hot,the only down side is the car park can get jammed. I would certaily reccomend and and stay at his hotel again when in Wexford.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andycap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I think the hotel is an excellent hotelier a fantastic location. The room was outstanding. The staff are extremely helpful and efficient. Breakfast staff deserve a special mention as they worked very diligently in a very busy environment. The only things I disliked was the very crowded car parking situation and the extremely annoying bit buzz wi-fi. Not a service for the smartphone user.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Got a really good deal for this hotel and visited with my family. We were all allocated rooms with sea views. The rooms were spotlessly clean, very comfortable and very spacious. Our deal included our evening meal. The menu we were given had great variety and the food was gorgeous. As some other reviewer mentioned, the staff here are the hotels greatest asset and I have to agree. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out, all of the staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful. Car parking was so accessible and even my car had a sea view :) The hotel is ideally situated for shopping in Wexford which has lots of small shops to visit and enjoy. I would definitely recommend the Talbot and will definitely be back for another visit :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, so relaxing to watch the sea in the evening and morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,493 reviews
2.0 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
414 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
821 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Property: Talbot Wexford
Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#3 Family Hotel in Wexford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing