We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star”
Review of Talbot Wexford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Wexford
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not 4 star”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here several times over the las 5 years definitely not Maintained ..tired very very tired food terrible have to say first for receiving raw prawns though needs refresh. . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    500
    196
    86
    38
See reviews for
426
643
51
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed in the Talbot in Sept. this year. Lovely hotel, staff could'nt do enough for us. Rooms nice and clean, if a bit tired. Thought there should be a drinks cabinet for water, as it was supposed to be 4 star. Friendly staff at reception but in my opinion dinner was a total let down. Very little choice and NO choice at all in dessert. Very disappointed with dinner. Would stay there again, but not for dinner unless they have a new chef.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAEDHBHIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We travelled to the talbot in September of this year 2012, we had a great time. We travelled with a small baby and we got a massive family room was great, staff very helpful in every way. The Beauty Bank was a real relaxation treat highly recommend the back, neck, shoulder and indian head massage i felt like a new person. The rooms could do with a little revamp but overall they are clean and that most important. We will definitelty stay there again we had only booked to stay the 3 nights but we had such a nice time that we stayed a fourth one. Wexford a great town for the shopping,

Room Tip: Family room is great for those with a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestopinions_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We pride ourselves on being like a ‘home away from home’ for our guests so I’m delighted that you and your family were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us.

We have a fantastic Christmas Shopping Package starting in November should you wish to return to Wexford some pre-Christmas retail therapy!

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our Golf Society returned to the Talbot again this year and again had a fantastic weekend,
We were looked after really well the Food was excellent and the entertainment in the bar both nights was very good. The Staff in the Hotel are both friendly and helpful. We had 34 Golfers in the Society and not one complaint

Room Tip: Front Rooms have a great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent break with us and it was a pleasure looking after your group.

I think you will agree, we have some fantastic golf packages available so hopefully we will see you all again soon!

I look forward to welcoming you and your golf group back to Talbot Wexford again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Talbot hotel is well located in the centre of Wexford town and has a free car park attached.The receptionists at check-in and check-out were extremely efficient and helpful, as were all the staff throughout the hotel.
However, in my opinion, this hotel is not a 4 star and not worth the price we paid for the weekend. Our room was clean and quite large but very basic and had none of the extras I would expect from a 4 star hotel.
Our room was overlooking air conditioning units, so not very pleasant, but I guess I should have requested a sea view.
The breakfast was the standard buffet fare but well done, with a chef serving the hot food from the buffet.
Overall, the staff and location are a big selling point for the hotel, but I was expecting a higher standard of hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bannergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

On a 12 day tour of Ireland this was hotel 5 of 6 and probably one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in this year. The room was average size but clean and tidy, although the lighting could do with some maintenance, the public areas were clean and well maintained and the staff were all courtious and very helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Althought the food offering was a special menu for our trip, the food was good quality and hot, although the coffee wasn't to our taste. The hotel is near to the station and overlooks the bay. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Front rooms near reception have the best views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAW1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for your valued custom.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience all that we have to offer. Also I would like to thank you for bringing the issues with the lighting to my attention.

We hope to welcome you back to the Talbot Wexford again on your next visit to Ireland.

Kind Regards
Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

we stayed here for a well deserved break and thats what we had the hotel itself was lovely and clean the staff were very nice the only thing ill say is the big light outside our window is a bit mad it lights the whole room up i rang down twice and eventually it was turned off the next night after asking on our way to bed the girl made sure it was off other then that the hotel is lovely and clean and the food is also very nice.and its in a great location.for a brilliant stay in irelands best county.we will definatly be returning.

Room Tip: room 427 is lovely but make sure you ask for the big bright light outside your window to be turned o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcullen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotWexford, General Manager at Talbot Wexford, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for your valued custom.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience all that the Talbot Hotel and Wexford has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Wexford again in the future.

Kind Regards

Dick Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.4 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,493 reviews
2.0 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.4 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
415 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
820 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Wexford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Wexford

Property: Talbot Wexford
Address: Trinity Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#3 Family Hotel in Wexford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Wexford 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Talbot Wexford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Wexford Hotel Wexford
Talbot Hotel Wexford
Wexford Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing