We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised to read such positive reviews!”
Review of Blue Door B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Door B&B
Ranked #9 of 29 Wexford B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surprised to read such positive reviews!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am really surprised to read such pleasant reviews about this B&B! I had read some before visiting the Blue Door and feel I was mislead!

The first thing I noticed was a musty, damp smell in the hallway. I read another review that mentioned this also. The next thing I noticed was that there were used cotton buds (ear buds) in our bin. We had a double room with an additional single bed, which were clean but the sheets had not been ironed. Our breakfast was ok, but mine didn't taste freshly made. Our breakfast table was also not clean. It had a plastic, doily type covering which had splashes from a previous meal that had not been cleaned. I found this to be really off-putting, and lazy.

All these small incidents would discourage me from visiting the Blue Door again. It may seem I am nitpicking, but small changes (an empty bin, a clean table), would have made a significant difference to our stay. It seemed as though there was only one person working the entire time we were there, perhaps it would be beneficial for them to hire more (cleaning!) staff.

Room Tip: We had room number 2, a nice large room to the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
29
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The owner is very friendly and cooks a very good breakfast. The rooms are very comfortable with everything you would expect. We stayed here the night before getting the ferry back to Wales and it was perfectly positioned - only 20 minutes from the ferry port but also in the heart of Wexford for our dinner - which we had at the excellent Yard restaurant - and for pubs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night while en route back to England, wanted a stopover near the Rosslare ferry. This was ideal as it 20 mins from ferry but near central Wexford which has some good restaurants, notably Fordes.

The building is an old townhouse which has been well decorated. The rooms were quite basic but clean.

There is parking in a car park at the rear or on the street but there are charges for this from 8.30 until 1800 approx.

The breakfast was very good and was cooked to order.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Arrived on Saturday for the half marathon on Sunday, The lads were kind enough to let us go off menu for breakfast and use the room after the run to shower etc. Would highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Wexford town. The Yard restaurant which is practically next door is pretty good too btw.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, fl
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wexford was our first stop on our Ireland adventure. We went to the opera festival. The b&b itself was charming, with very few ammenities. The breakfast prepared by Steven was delicious and set the bar high. The room was freezing, but after I asked Steven for an extra blanket he set us up with a heater. The parking is a real problem there, feeding a machine every 2 hrs. The shower was terrible. There was free wifi. For a starting point, it was fine. The breakfast and the host made it very enjoyable and we were able to overlook the other issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookums71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I first went to the Wexford Festival 31 years ago and so have seen a fair number of the hotels and B&Bs that the town has to offer. For me, the B&Bs have the edge: the town's hotels tend to be overly pretentious and do not offer particularly good value for money. For the last six or so years I've been staying at Blue Door. It's handy for everything in the town: the opera house is but five minutes walk away; the rail station and bus stop likewise; two of the better restaurants in the town (Greenacres and The Yard) are in the same street. Derek is a very welcoming host who doesn't seek to dominate his guests in the way that some B&B proprietors do. He also serves an outstanding breakfast. We've already booked ourselves in for next year in anticipation of getting the Festival tickets that we want.

The town's Georgian street pattern was not planned with the automobile in mind. Parking is a nightmare. If you can bear to be without a car, give a though to coming by public transport. The rail services from Dublin (board either at Connolly or Pearse stations) are slow but very picturesque. The town is reasonably well served by direct bus services from many of the major towns within the Irish Republic and from Rosslare Europort, Wexford's nearest passenger harbour. There are also frequent bus services direct to Dublin Airport (journey time about 2 hours 45 minutes).

For those who fancy a dip to work off some of the excess baggage gained from the food and drink (as much a part of the Festival as the opera performances), last year Wexford Corporation opened a really pleasant 25 metre swimming pool 10 minutes' walk away from Blue Door just across the bridge. The rule is 'no swimming cap, no swim', so if you do intend to use the facility make sure that you come appropriately equipped.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freischutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Door B&B on October Bank Holiday weekend. We really had a great time! Very reasonable rate - Excellent Service - Staff are friendly and very helpful. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wexford hotels
0.5 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,642 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jim McGee's Traditional Bar and Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door B&B

Property: Blue Door B&B
Address: The Blue Door 18 Lower George's Street, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Door B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Door B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Door Hotel Wexford
Blue Door Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing