We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable and oh, that breakfast...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faythe Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Faythe Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 29 Wexford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable and oh, that breakfast...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Faythe guesthouse is in a handy spot; all of Wexford town is within walking distance. It's just off the main road into town coming from Rosslare and has it's own parking around the back.
The beds were comfortable so we all slept well. The floors are uneven but that comes with the age of the building. The choice of tv channels is quite limited but you don't really go to Wexford to watch tv ;-) The bedrooms are big enough and have seats but if you want some more room there's a generous living room downstairs with books and games to get through a rainy day.
The owners are very friendly and know the area well. Whether it's entertainment for the night or the best fish and chips in the county they know where to send you.
As a number of reviewers have mentioned, breakfast at the Faythe is second to none; fresh bread, fresh fruit and whatever breakfast you fancy it's cooked fresh for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman_in_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian L, Owner at Faythe Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dutch Man In dublin,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay but I see you may have had problems with our tv as we have 12 stations and one of which is a free movie channel, this is usually sufficent with our guests however we also have a selection of over 200 complimentary dvds which our guets can choose from ranging from childern to adult movies.

Hope to see you again in Wexford.

Regards,

Siobhnan & Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    65
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
62
137
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I recently stayed at the Faythe (pronounced 'fight'). We used it as a base for a week's sea fishing. The guest house is ideally situated for access to all coastal regions of the South East and also a fantastic location for exploring some of the wonderful pubs and traditional music that Wexford has to offer. The hotel is extremely clean, has a wonderful breakfast selection (the tea brack (fruit cake) has just got to be tried, even if it is not what you might normally expect for breakfast!) Damian and Siobhan are the perfect hosts, helpful in every respect. We can't wait to stay again next year. Oh, and in case you were wondering, the fishing was really good as well!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian L, Owner at Faythe Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Billy,

Many thanks for your comments and let me know when you are coming again as I now have a name of a gilly who takeas a different approach to fishing and I can pass his details to you the next time you are coming.

Looking forward to seeing you both again next time.

Regards,

Damian & Siobhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed two evenings and were very happy with our accommodation. The breakfast is is one of the best I have ever had. All cooked fresh with home made bread every day. Just fantastic. The owners are extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and suggestions for visits. They were especially helpful with providing and early breakfast on out last day to ensure we caught our ferry. The room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are quieter but the street noise is not bad. The front room on the 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblnsqueakdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian L, Owner at Faythe Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Bubblen squeak diving,

Many thyanks for your recent comments. We get up early 7 days a week in order to cook fresh bread and prepare all other fres itmes for the buffet table.

We believe that freshly cooked breakfast is the only way to go hence why we cook to order even when we have a full house.

We are just coming to end of the season so we will be making plans which part of the house to refurbish for next season as we take a different section each year for refurbishement.

regards,

Damian & Siobhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had the great pleasure to enjoy two nights in the Faythe Guesthouse. A magnificent sea-view welcomed us into our beautifully-furnished room. The owners were friendly and helpful, the freshly-made breakfast was delicious and the service was great! We will definitely be recommending the Faythe to anyone visiting Wexford and will be sure to visit again. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremyroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian L, Owner at Faythe Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Jemey,

Many thanks for your kind comments and hope to see you again the next time you come to Wexford.

Regards,

Siobhan & Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallasey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned home from a great stay in The Faythe House Wexford , this was my second visit this year was also across for a visit in March for the St Patrick's Day celebrations.
As ever everything was 'spot- on' the weather was very sunny, all standards in the Faythe are being maintained at the highest levels, upgrades to the showers are continuing and whilst I was there a tradesman was busy maintaining the interior décor and gardens, it is nice to see owners putting money back into the business to maintain it to a high standard, as ever breakfasts were superb with an extensive menu available. The staff are still excellent both very cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lionWallasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian L, Owner at Faythe Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Lion Wallsey,

Again as usual many thanks for your continous custom and kind comments using trip advsior.

As you know with so many people with many different opinions and different expectations we try so hard to provide the best services for each persons different needs and it is refreshing to see that you recognise all the efforts we make.

See you again in September,

Regards,

Damian & Siobhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have now stayed 5 times in this guesthouse in the lovely town of Wexford. The last stay being for one night on Friday 12th July bringing along relatives with us on the way to England. They also were very happy with the accommodation and the breakfasts are really great. Along with a great selection of food there is two types of fresh Irish bread baked every morning by both Siobhan and Damien, the owners. I was given a loaf specially baked for me to take home!

We can thoroughly recommend this guesthouse where the owners made sure my partner who has a strictly gluten free diet was offered gluten free bread and sausages etc. for breakfast.

We are over in Ireland again in November for a wedding in Cork and intend to make a reservation for two nights stopover and look forward to eating again in a lovely Wexford Restaurant recommended by Damien and Siobhan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186361Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian L, Owner at Faythe Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
1863161 Patricia,

Many thanks for your comments again this visit and delighted we could make your first and last nights in Ireland very comfortable.

Hope the crossing was not to rough and that you enjoyed the brown bread when you got home.

Looking forward to seeing you in November,

Many Regards

Damian & Siobhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

When we arrived we met with Damien the owner. He was so helpful and explained all the local surroundings . Where to eat and places of interest. The room was well kept, spacious, comfortable and had a lovely view. The breakfast was great and the staff were so pleasant and cheerful. This is a lovely guesthouse and so convenient to the town center. We were so glad we had chosen this place as we totally enjoyed our five day stay.There is no doubt we would go back again. One of the best guesthouses on our list. Thanks to you both for a great break. Gerry and Margaret Carroll Co Antrim

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian L, Owner at Faythe Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Gerry & Margaret,

Many thanks for your kind comments as so often some guests just home in on our faults instead of commending us on our good points and accepting that we try very hard to rectify any negatives at the earliest oppertunity.

Hope to see you both again the nest time you come down.

Regards,

Siobhan & Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wexford hotels
0.2 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.0 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
2.8 mi away
Killiane Castle Country House & Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faythe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faythe Guesthouse

Property: Faythe Guesthouse
Address: 7/8 Swan View, Wexford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Faythe Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Faythe Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faythe Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing