We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woh factor !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas Moore Tavern

Thomas Moore Tavern
Ranked #8 of 137 Restaurants in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on Cornmarket, in the Heart of Wexford Town, the Thomas Moore Tavern is one of Wexfords oldest bars. Beautifully restored, the Thomas Moore Tavern uses the very best of local and seasonal ingredients and serves lunch and evening meals in stylish surroundings. Enjoy delicious food served daily in the ground floor bar or join us for a burger in the evenings while watching the big match. Enjoy casual meals in The Bistro, regular entertainment in The Bar, or book your own private function in our Piano Bar, we have everything you need for a great night out.
Kildare
Level Contributor
153 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Woh factor !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Myself and my husband visited this restaurant a couple of weeks ago. We thought that we were eating in the bistro which looks great ( also the bar) but we were taken to the "Spire Restaurant" on top floor. What a wonderful surprise...the decor, ambience, reception of the staff...and that was even before we had any food !. The menu was excellent and we had a very memorable meal. The staff treated everyone with the highest regard and attention to detail was truly top class. We have told all our friends and we will certainly be back for more. We intend to eat in the bistro over the Christmas holidays also. thanks again for making our evening special.
Brian & Cathy, Kildare

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    98
    34
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in Wexford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have been several times for lunch and cannot wait to try dinner there. The menu is varied and different from most offerings in other restaurants in Wexford at lunch but it does not charge a premium for this, you can get a main course for approx. €10. The setting is gorgeous with beautiful decor and you can really relax and enjoy the time in there.
I would defintely recommend it to anyone visiting Wexford it really is one of the best quality resturants in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

You simply can not take away from the beautiful decor, cosy feel and wonderful surroundings that the Thomas Moore Tavern has to offer, but, please warn your customers who order the chicken curry from the bar menu that it is HOT.. I love spicy hot food but this was so hot it was inedible.. I mentioned this to the barman/waiter who was a very pleasent young man, but he paid little to no heed to my complaint.. Disappointing!
This review is not intended in any way, as derogative towards the Thomas Moore Tavern as a buisness, as mentioned above it really is a wonderful establishment. But again please warn customers whom dine in the bar that the chicken curry is ridiculously hot.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 12isaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding - a genuine surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited this pub/restaurant twice in a row while at the Wexford Opera Festival. It is hard to describe everything that is great about this place - from the staff and managers whose pride in serving really outstanding cuisine is visible, to the cleanliness of the premises. Just after the lunch and dinner rushes you could still visit most of the premises and be surprised at the pristine state of everything, including the bathrooms.

Although recently refurbished the work has been beautifully done - from the classic tin ceiling to the exacting cabinetry standards of the panelling and the wrought (but not over-wrought) metal of the stairs.

The food was made in-house, including the filled pasta (mushroom panzerotti) which was both delicate and delicious - and the starter portion was larger than a main course I had in Dublin a day later - and half the price. Indeed, the quality, quantity and prices were a bit of an economic mystery - how do they break even? My wife's expression as she surveyed a 30cm of perfectly cooked sea bass was only leavened by the waitress' comment that "oh they are often bigger." Moreover, they served the whole fish, boned and sliced, but with the crisped skin on top - perfectly cooked - gorgeous, but easy to eat. At lunch time an order of a pork chops main - with salsa verde (perfect) showed up with two sizeable pork chops! The crème fraîche - lemon creme brullée was a delicious and brilliant solution to the usual high calorie content of traditional crème brullée.

The old Michelin star standard of worth a detour - this place is worth a visit to Wexford town to go to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spires - Very Nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had a meal for two in Spires. This is a fine dining experience.
We had the tasting menu. We had a half price deal voucher.
The dining room is very nice and the service was attentive.
The Amuse bouche was smoked chicken. this was ok nothing special. A bit fatty I thought.
For the starter the oven roasted quail was very good.
My main course was pan fried cod with rib beef and beef ravioli. it looked great but sadly lacked any real flavour.
My wife had turbot with crab meat, this was full of flavour.
Desserts were very nice. Coffee was illy in a cafetiere, this was not allowed to brew for long enough. No espresso in an expensive restaurant!.
Service was good, Shiraz was €24, nice wine, Jump stump I think it was called.
I would say it was good for the half price I paid but was not worth double.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiurce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Moore Tavern also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Been to Thomas Moore Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing